Waterford City and my hotel


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Waterford » Waterford
July 14th 2010
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 52.2568, -7.1292

We headed for our hotel where the driver had already unloaded our luggage. We got our room keycards and headed upstairs. The hotel, Dooley's Hotel, is located in the quayside area of Waterford. It has been owned by the same family since 1947. The place is quaint and the four poster bed and canopy is charming. There is no AC, and the reception desk said that their were no fans available. However, as I was unpacking, I heard one of the maids down the hallway talking in her little office. When she got off the phone, I asked if I could have a fan. She got me one!!! I have one window that opens, but no screen, so I hope there will not be a lot of bugs in my room tonight. Dinner was at 7. I sat with the Canadian sisters and two Australian sisters (one of them was the one that wanted to hang out with me at the Castle). Dylan presented the winners of the Limerick contest and the movie quiz contests with their drinks. I asked for a shot of Jamison Whiskey. I downed it to the cheers of the group. Boy was that a strong drink; very smooth with no burning, but it warmed me up a bit! For dinner I had a Cesar salad, followed by Traditional Irish Beef & Guinness Stew, and a berry cheesecake. The salad and stew was excellent. The cheesecake was bland. After dinner I walked down the street towards the clock tower. Nothing was open except a few restaurants and a mini market. All the streets were empty that led up the hill. There were a lot of teenagers hanging out by the waterfront. I crossed the street to reach the river walked along the riverside parking lot. As I was watching the river, a swan swam past me. I then crossed back across the street in front of the hotel. I stopped by the pub that is part of the hotel. Two old men were playing. The place was filled with people and it was hot and stuffy in there, so I decided to head on up to my room. I watched some TV, typed and sorted my photos of the day, and went to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb