Ireland Day 10


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Sligo » Sligo
June 14th 2013
Published: June 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello!
Today was a travel day. We left Galway this morning and headed to Sligo. We made one stop and that was at Kylemore Abbey. We got to see the Abbey, the Gothic church, and the garden. It was pretty cool. The Benedictine Nuns purchased the Abbey after Mr. Kylemore passed away and no one else wanted to maintain the grounds. They turned it into a boarding school. The school remained open until 2010 when they had to shut down due to structural reasons. In 1994 they began restoring the garden. They finished restoring it in 1999. It is gorgeous! After the garden we went to the Gothic church. There was suppose to be a choir but they did not show up. We waited for a little bit, then we went to the gift shop and got lunch. I enjoyed my time at the Abbey. I learned a lot about the history of the Abbey and I enjoyed my time with Will and Claire. They are fun to hang out with and they kept things interesting. While we were walking around I thought about how I could use this experience to teach my students. Seeing as how the Abbey was a boarding school, I thought maybe we could talk about boarding schools and discuss how they would feel in a one. How would they like to attend a school just for boys or just for girls? That was just a thought I had. Anyway, after the Abbey we went to our hotel in Sligo. We stayed at the Best Western and it was GREAT! I was able to hang out with some of the other people and we had fun! I have really enjoyed my time in Ireland! Now it is time to go to bed! Good night!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb