G is for Galway


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
July 28th 2008
Published: July 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I went to Galway last Sunday (20 July) for the day. It was beautiful--I went with my friend Erica and we decided that it was a place we just had to see before returning to America. Why? Well, other than the Galway girl song which EVERYBODY loves (well, I like it) 'And er hair was black and er eyes were bluee' everybody in Ireland says Galway is a great place to go outside of Dublin. It's the 'San Francisco' of Ireland. I can see the similarities...they are both west coast cities with an alternative edge...boho, if you will. Just like San Francisco, Galway is trendy and pretty upscale & therefore pricey---obviously not the extent that San Fran is, but still noticible. The buildings are colorful and there are a ton of pubs and music being played everywhere. It is brimming with a energy you can feel because of all the people that come to have the craic in this popular place. It's also incredibly historical, you really feel like a step back in time when you're there.

We went on an unexpectedly sunny day, which rocked. The Galway bay was glistening....reminded me of the great lakes at home a little. Then at the end of the day we took the train back to Dublin and I listened to my music and watched the rolling green hills get lost behind me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb