Guinness...great for the heart?? I guess.


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
July 18th 2008
Published: July 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This past weekend (11 July-13 July) a huge transition took place. My friend Laura and a bunch of other people that came during the same program left Ireland and returned to the states. My apartment where I live, Shanowen Square, has gone through a couple of different transitions, if you will. When I first arrived there was mostly Irish people living there who attended DCU (Dublin City University). Personally, in my flat in particular there were not any Irish people living there but one girl from the states and two german guys who all moved out within about two weeks or less of when I moved in. THEN...THE Americans came. At first I was in the minority to be from the states and that turned into being the vast majority. And, despite the fact that I should be hanging out with Irish people considering that I am in Ireland, was AWESOME. My new flatmate was Liz, from CT and we got along great. Then there were my peeps; Andrea and Laura were my two main friends and we hung out all the time. So, this past weekend when they all left and returned stateside...the place is not my home anymore.

Now I have two flatmates who are staying here for about 3 weeks to study English; Daniella from Italy and I cannot remember the name of the Spanish guy who lives across from me. We rarely talk to each other, as they have their own friends from Italia and Spain...the place is truly different.

On a happier note; I had a helluva time saying farewell to the love of my life here in Ireland, Laura this weekend! Before she left to go back to the states her family came and spent the weekend in Dublin. I also had a dear friend come to visit me from London, Bethany, who I met doing students for Hillary at MSU. Laura, her brother Dave, Bethany and her friend Megan and me all went out Saturday for a good craic. We also spent the weekend going out to our favourite pubs, sightseeing, and I FINALLY went to go see the guinness storehouse which is pretty much the main attraction in Dublin. I have to say, as I expected, paying 11 euro isn't really worth it....especially for someone like me who doesn't care about how beer is brewed. But, now I can say I did it and NOT return back home without seeing Guinness. The view from the 7th level is the cool part--it's a great way to lookout over the entire city. You also get a pint of guinness at the end. So, Laura and I sat there...drinking our pints...and she said farewell to Dublin.

This weekend I am planning to go to Galway...stay tuned!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Took another day trip to Howth w/ BethanyTook another day trip to Howth w/ Bethany
Took another day trip to Howth w/ Bethany

It's a beautiful place just on the Irish sea only an hour bus ride from Dublin. Best part about it is it's FREE!


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb