Greetings from the Grey City


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
October 9th 2006
Published: October 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from the third world! Thank god I’m out of here in six hours! Its has been absolutely miserable- it rains six times a day and we all have been cold since we got here.

We have, however, made the most of it- Sanna and I hiked to the National Gallery today where, you will hate me for saying this, I was awestruck to see the Taking of Christ by Caravaggio- in the flesh. Jealous? It was breathe taking, absolutely perfect! So yes, no running water for 4 days but at least the art is worthwhile.

Picked up some books at a second hand store - Steinbeck, Austen and Byron (feeling the Irish thing a bit). Trinity College was wonderful, and the library is to die for- it’s the longest single room library in the world (beats out Cambridge by 2m) and the cute Irish student guide we had made it extra special. The Book of Kells is wonderful to look at (8th century book of the 4 gospels) and the library has originals of just about every English and Irish book since the founding of the college in 1579. Good times.

Went to Irish pub and danced a nice river dance. Went to Guinness Brewery at St James Gate and just about died trying to drink a pint of the 'black stuff' as they so affectionately call it. So tired and soar and smelly (I cant believe I have to go to Paris like this) however I am counting the minutes until I land in my most beautiful and endearing host country.

The Irish it seems, to make over arching stereotypes, seem to live on violence here, and its everywhere. It’s really not uncommon to find a pool of blood while you walk, or more likely, you will walk into a large scale brawl. The people are course and like the weather, they are severe and punishing. It’s like being in a Dickens time warp. It lacks the regency and majesty of England, and the Emerald Isles are more grey and glooming than anything else.

Went to a great club though last night and danced the night away. They played great music like Bronski Beat and James Brown. Apparently I’m very attractive over here as strangely enough I was the center of all Irish male attention- ick! Also, everyone thinks I’m Irish... especially the Irish. Even with my thick Canadian accent I would need a tattoo of the Canadian flag on my forehead to prove to these people that I'm not one of them... it could just be the lack of showering.

Anyways, I should TRY to get some sleep as it will be 12 hours of traveling - plane, train, bus, ad metro tomorrow before I can take my long shower. Miss my French buddies (and a few foreigners) so much I could die and already have plans to see them tomorrow night (if I haven’t died from stink and exhaustion).

Advertisement



10th October 2006

Oh get a clue! Ireland is one of the richest counties in the world..... http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/eco_gdp_percap-economy-gdp-nominal-per-capita

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb