Guinness: Not Just a Breakfast Drink!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
June 25th 2006
Published: July 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

As am Irish American, I could think of no better place to spend my 25th Birthday than Dublin. To be more specific, I spend a great deal of the day wandering around the Guinness Storehouse.

For anyone who´s never been to the Guinness Storehouse, its the original Brewery that has been converted into a living museum and churns out the brews it did years ago. On short, its a Mecca for beer. The interior is shaped like a giant pint glass of Guinness and the self guided tour is supposed to take you from the bottom floor up to the sky bar located at the top of the building that hosts first class views of the city of Dublin and is also where they give you your free pint, included in the admission.

My tour however started at the sky bar, with my free pint of Guinness and I drank my way down to the bottom of the pint glass/museum, stopping at the exhibits all along the way. What I did, I don´t want to say is illegal but apparently its frowned upon as I was sent, numerous times, back up the escalators towards the bar areas, which provided execllent opportunities for refills.

I think this is the only time in my life that I´ll be asked to leave a museum and return to a bar instead.....hmmmmm.

But the reason I was rolling around the Guinness Storehouse solo is because my younger cousin Carolyn was returning from a road trip to Galway and was unavailable for the day celebration. She more than made up for her absence at night as she would not allow my hand to be empty, whether it be Guinness, Jameson or sometimes even both at the same time.

It was a wildly successful birthday that left me with nothing but the finest of foggy memories and a newly found love for the institution of Beer known as Guinness...

This quote was located somewhere on a wall inside the Storehouse:

Home is not where you live but where they understand you

- Christian Morganstern

Profound Christian, profound...



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Toucan BrewToucan Brew
Toucan Brew

Broadening Horizons...Add 6 cups of sugar to a Guinness and you get Toucan Brew
Fly Toucan Fly!Fly Toucan Fly!
Fly Toucan Fly!

On the center of the Giant Pint Glass
Mr. HorseMr. Horse
Mr. Horse

I had a 10 minute conversation with this Horse after leaving the brewery...


11th July 2006

guiness.... always a good decision
11th July 2006

I CAN'T BELIEVE YOU WERE THROWN OUT OF A MUSEUM AND SENT TO A BAR.
THE TASTING ROOM PORTION OF THE TOUR WAS ALWAYS MY FAVORITE. I DON'T EVEN KNOW IF THEY HAD A MUSEUM WHEN WE WERE THERE. THE HORSE, HOWEVER, WAS THERE AND HE CAN CARRY ON A VERY INTELLIGENT CONVERSATION AND IS WELL VERSED ON CURRENT AFFAIRS.

Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 21; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb