Willi's Wine Bar


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 20th 2006
Published: July 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so this one's for Papa John:

Anyone who has been to the house I grew up in or for that matter, anywhere my father has lived since the 90s, are sure to recognize some of the artwork in this blog. Oddly enough, Papa John has never been to Willi's Wine Bar, and anyone who knows him is sure to immediately learn about his love of fine wine and upon getting to know him a little better, might learn that he may or may not value his Willi's Wine Bar Paintings more than some of his children...namely the weird one who's currently off wandering the world.

I came to France during a whirlwind Spring Break in college and my friends, troopers that they are, followed me around the streets of Paris searching for some wine bar though we didn't have a phone number or an address. Needless to say, we never found it and I've returned to Paris with one goal...Find One Eyed Willi!!!

This trip went off without any problems. I wasn't that far off in my sense of direction the last time; and in getting lost yesterday I realized just how close we had come those years ago before the spring breakers inside of us gave up all hope and started drinking at the first bar in sight. So I did get a little lost but at least I did have an address this time. (One might notice after looking at these posters for over ten years that each one has the address on it somewhere, but then again i've never been much of a latent observer).

The real problem was that I've built up the idea of what Willi's would be like for so long that I almost missed it even as I walked directly in front of it. Its a tiny little place with maybe ten tables and a smallish bar that seats 8. I suppose though, after a little retrospect, that it is a wine bar in paris so if it were a big place, it would lose its charm. The owner has done a fantastic job of promoting his establishment because nearly everyone that walked inside stated to the hostess that they've come from afar, seeking one eyed Willi. Note: Willi's Wine Bar is in no way affiliated to The Goonies other than within the confines of my mind.

So here's the fuss:
Best meal I've had in 6 months (might seem like an overstatement being that I've subsisted on noodles and rice so I might have to go as far as 2 years to stress my point). I never imagined Steak and Potatoes could be that good.

I couldn't read the menu, nor could I even make the words on the menu sound out phonetically like something resembling wine but trust me, i had a lot of wine and all of it was good...

Now I've just got to ship Papa John over to Paris so he can appreciate his art and wine in their natural setting...


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



11th July 2006

Finding Willie
That's huge buddy, so were we really close to finding it the first time around? Probably better that you had to look for it twice.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb