No Bake Space Cake


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
June 19th 2006
Published: July 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I broke two toes in a barefoot pick up soccer game on the lawn at the Museo Square. They're only toes, they'll grow back. Considering some of the other injuries I've had, and the amount of my own blood I've spilled accidentally, I was happy to learn that they were likely only cracked up a bit and not pointing in the wrong direction. There's a reason I took nearly 100 pictures of this soccer, excuse me, football game, I saw sitting in the grass watching my toes swell. No matter, I've past the point of perpetual sandal weather, shoes have become a necessity.

This trip to Amsterdam, I was determined to soak up a little more culture than my last trip. The line for the Anne Frankhuois was around the block, up the street, over the hills and far away. So that was a no go, and besides, I've never actually read her diary so I likely wasn't going to pick up some of the more subtle nuiances that the house would offer an educated observer. My companions from the USA Italy game weren't much interested in waiting over an hour either so we headed off to the Van Gogh Museum.

Immediately, in the first two hours of walking, I saw more of this beautiful city than I saw during my Spring Break trip in College. That trip wasn't much more than walking from bar to bar, though at each bar we did discuss how we SHOULD go see something other than the streets taking us from one watering hole to the next. So for this excursion, we decided to go immediately to the Museums/Sights so that when we did go to the bars, we could cheers to a feeling of cultured accomplishment rather than simply waiting for the next World Cup match to begin.

The idea was to hit up the Anne Frankhuis before the Van Gogh Museum on our way to the Heineken Experience. One out of three ain't bad, but we did manage to squeeze in an hour long hodgepodge pickup game of soccer containing Saudi Arabians, Dutch, Irish, Italians and us Americans.

The day was gorgeous and not to be wasted sitting outside at a coffeeshop watching the world go by, though for any avid people watchers, Amsterdam is the most interesting place for this long venreated hobby. We contemplated taking a canal
The BulldogThe BulldogThe Bulldog

Gotta Haves
tour of the city but as extensive as the canals are within the city limits, we could accomplish more on foot. Coincidentally, I donĀ“t think I helped out my little toes by walking around for miles after immediately cracking them like ground pepper but no matter, the walk was worth it.

The following morning, I bid farwell to my new friends as they returned to Germany for the USA Ghana game and I made my way south to Paris. For those of you following along at home with the publication emails, I have been posting these a bit out of order (minor writers block) and its best to look at the dates of the blogs rather than the dates of the emails.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

I amsterdamI amsterdam
I amsterdam

The Big City Slogan outside of the Rijks Museum
The BulldogThe Bulldog
The Bulldog

An Institution
Pick up Futbol Game in the Museum SquarePick up Futbol Game in the Museum Square
Pick up Futbol Game in the Museum Square

Barefoot Soccer with Saudis, English, Dutch & Americans...thats a World Cup collection!


11th July 2006

The Bulldog
The Bulldog was probably the extent of the "culture" that we saw last time in Amsterdam, or was it the pegions in the McDonald's

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb