Dublin, Publin, Clublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
May 11th 2006
Published: May 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Crazy KidCrazy KidCrazy Kid

12 year old fire torch juggling unicyclist in Galway
I'm in Dublin now and I'm having awesome weather, so it's great craic! I got here on Tuesday from Galway. Over the weekend I went to Inis Mor (one of the Aran Islands), which is an island off the coast of Galway. It was pretty amazing. All the people there speak Gaelic. I really love the fact that there are still places where people speak Gaelic. When we first arrived in Cork, the Garda (police) man told us that Gaelic was as useful as Latin, which made me really sad. But it isn't! I cycled around Inis Mor. It's really interesting because there are stone walls dividing up the entire island built all at different points in history. There are also these HUGE stone forts built by ancient Celts on the cliff edges. And the cliffs on the west side of the island are another thing! They are the shearest cliffs I've ever seen in my life. They literally drop 90 degrees like a wall. As I leaned over the edge, I realized that my lack of fear of heights was probably a bad thing lest I FALL... Oh well, I didn't. Aran Island is also the birthplace of the "Aran
Aran Islands Aran Islands Aran Islands

I like hanging over cliffs
Sweater" which is apparently really famous?

I stayed another night in Galway when I came back from Inis Mor and headed out to Dublin. I do really like the Georgian architecture here, but now that I'm back in a big city, I'm a little confused about what I'm supposed to get out of it. Everyone experiences cities in different ways, I suppose. All the big attractions (including the cathedrals) here seem to charge, and I'm just not down with paying for things! The Guinness store house tour costs €17! Outrageous! By the way, Guinness really, honestly is better in Ireland. I didn't even like it back home, but here, it is lovely! But anyways, I guess I was trying to get at the fact that I had a great day yesterday, but it really didn't have too much to do with being in Dublin. I sat in the park and enjoyed the sunshine and warm weather (very rare here) and met some new friends to hang out with all night. I could probably do that at home. But it's probably better doing it in a place like Dublin, just cuz its not home. I'm excited. I love living life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Black FortBlack Fort
Black Fort

remains of ancient dwellings at Black Fort
WallWall
Wall

Woah.
Yay wild flowers!Yay wild flowers!
Yay wild flowers!

Playing with the macro setting on my camera.
CliffsCliffs
Cliffs

I'm beginning to think these are my favorite cliffs
BeachBeach
Beach

Inis Mor's got it all
Stone Monk HutStone Monk Hut
Stone Monk Hut

I think this is from the...twelfth century?
Forboding skyForboding sky
Forboding sky

I love water like that
Dun AengusDun Aengus
Dun Aengus

Ancient Celtic Fort
Happy HourHappy Hour
Happy Hour

Roosters are funny
The Temple BarThe Temple Bar
The Temple Bar

Temple Bar in Temple Bar
Clubbin' in DublinClubbin' in Dublin
Clubbin' in Dublin

Irish blokes singing Bob Marley.


11th May 2006

Latin is used in science, Gaelic is used on remote islands. Sorry Kim.... Gaelic is not about as useful. On a brighter note, reading poetry written with an Irish accent is great fun!!
12th May 2006

guiness
I heard the Guiness tour is really worth it.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb