St. Patty's Day in Ireland


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
March 20th 2006
Published: March 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday afternoon I embarked on my trip to Ireland. The Irish students I go to school with told me it was cold there but GOOD GOD I didn't know to what extent they meant. Jamie and I arrived in Dublin and spent the night there. We explored the next morning while it snowed on us, going to Trinity College, St. Patrick's Cathedral, etc. We had to catch a bus at one though so we could take the 4 hour journey across Ireland to Galway. Our friend, Dory, is currently studying there. The landscape of Ireland is just absolutely beautiful. It's covered in stone fences and lush green grass. Looking out the window, you would never guess that it was FREEZING. We arrived in Galway, a fairly small college town and explored with Dory. It's right on the coast so I got to enjoy all the lovely water. We went out for a few pints in a pub and the next day (St. Patty's Day) was spent exploring the city in detail, going to the parade (which the one is KC is much bigger!), and eating some good ole traditional food. It had to be an early night because we had to wake up at 5 the next morning so Dory could catch her bus to Shannon to pick up her boyfriend. Jamie and I wandered around Galway from 6 to 9 am (nothing opened until 8!!!!! not even the farmer's market!!). At 9:30 we caught a bus and then a ferry to the Aran Islands. There are three island all together off the western coast of Ireland. We went to the largest island that has a population of about 800 people that all speak Gaelic (sp?). The views into the ocean were unbelievable but so was the wind! Jamie read in her book that a few tourists get blown off the cliff every year. Luckily, we were not one of them.
We returned back to Dublin at 11 that night and went straight to the airport. I slept in the airport for the first time. It wasn't worth getting a hostal because we had to check in at 4:30am. Overall, Ireland was very lovely and I absolutely loved the culture and the atmosphere. Even better, I was able to buy some good ole American products. Tonight we are having a Peanut Butter party with the jar of peanut butter I bought there. Good times held by all!

Advertisement



20th March 2006

that sounds so amazing! i hope i get to go there someday...i mean, come on, i have an irish gaelic word tattooed on me for freak's sake! i think kc's parade is the 2nd biggest in the US, too...so that doesn't surprise me. yaaaaay ireland!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb