Happy Birthday to me! :)


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
June 27th 2005
Published: June 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Entering County ClareEntering County ClareEntering County Clare

Land o' the Carmodys -- maybe my ancestors stopped at this corner once upon a time! :)
Hello again from Dublin! My biggest news ... Beth surprised me with my birthday present last night when we arrived back to town. We are going to the U2 concert here in Dublin tonight! Talk about a brilliant (as the Irish would say!) way to celebrate being a quarter of a century old, eh?! 😊 Becky, I know that you are turning green with envy right now - try not to send a hit man until after the concert, ok?!

The tickets were the end to a fabulous weekend out in Western Ireland. Beth and I took the train to Galway and then rented a car from there. Beth is quite the expert driver on the left side of the road! We stayed at two great B&B's - one in Clifden and the other in Doolin (the capital of traditional Irish music). One highlight of the journey ... horseback riding near the Cliffs of Moher. I was blessed to ride an unruly horse named Elvis - lets just say that I will add this to my list of adventure sports accomplished! Another highlight was Friday night at a pub in Clifden. Beth and I befriended three great guys -- a
A Dating Possibility ...A Dating Possibility ...A Dating Possibility ...

Ok all my dear single friends, lets mark our calendars for September (Beth and I ate lunch in this town)!
20-year old, 50ish year old, and 80 year old. It was a total blast!!

This will probably be my last entry from Europe. I fly back to London tomorrow and then it's off to the States on Wednesday. Unbelievable! Leaving will definitely be bittersweet. I can't wait to see all of you, but I will miss this wonderful place, too. I can guarantee you that I will be back soon -- anyone care to join me? 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Irish countrysideIrish countryside
Irish countryside

I kid you not, this is "typical" Irish countryside. It's grand!!
The Cliffs of MoherThe Cliffs of Moher
The Cliffs of Moher

Beth and I at the cliffs -- an Indiana couple took this picture! Small world!
Elvis and meElvis and me
Elvis and me

I soon learned why an Irish horse was named "Elvis" ... he thought he was the King!


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0992s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb