Home Sweet Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana
June 30th 2005
Published: June 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello! I wanted to let you all know that I arrived home safe and sound last night. The weather was a rude awakening compared to what I've been used to overseas -- it's so hot and humid here! Ugh! Anyway, it was a relief to see the cornfields of Indiana again. I think six weeks really was the perfect length of time to be gone. It was long enough to really feel like I was experiencing Europe, but I was just starting to miss the comforts of home as well. Yes, we Americans are definitely spoiled. I have new appreciation for AC, my own washer and dryer, bugless apartments, my car, and my closet!! No more living out of a suitcase and hauling everything I own around on my back. Yeah!!

Anyway, the U2 concert was an AMAZING end to my journey. So, so cool! It was by far the best concert of my life thus far and it will be tough to top! No words I use can do Bono justice. 😊 They played so many great songs. Some of my favorites were Elevation, Beautiful Day (thought of you, Becky!), Bloody Sunday, and more. What entertainers, too! A huge "thank you" to Beth for the ticket -- I will always remember my 25th birthday celebration!

I have grown so much in the past six weeks. Talk about being forced to become more comfortable in your own skin. I knew I wasn't the same person after I saw my reaction to getting "stuck" in the Tube gate yesterday. Yes, I was truly stuck because my backpack got caught. A local had to help release me. Sure, it was a little embarassing -- but that's life, right? It was actually pretty funny.

Europe has truly worked wonders for me. I hope you all have the chance to experience it sometime soon as well. In my opinion, the continent is magic. Thanks to all of you for reading . . .

Love,
Marisa

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb