Top o the mornin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
June 20th 2005
Published: June 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey what's up witcha!! I am just kickin' it here in Dublin. Let me update y'all.

First off, I know that man was not made to live on bread alone, but I am attempting to live on bread and chocolate alone. It seems to be working. Ok...Belgium was great. I spent to nights in Bruges, which is a city constructed of mostly mideval time buildings. They only reason the city wasn't knocked down hundreds of years ago and rebuilt like every other city in Europe was because the economy went sour and there was not enough money to do it. Bruges has canals, so think of a mideval Venice. I stayed in this cool hostel...it was kind of an odd check in though. Check in was at the bar downstairs...and I came at night so there were a lot of people there and it was a bit confusing. I ate chocolate, waffles, and Belgian fries....and of course...I did have some Belgian beer. They do make the best in the world.

My travel to Ireland was a little hairy. I was litteraly traveling all day...from 8am to 8pm with many changes (4 trains, 1 subway, 1 plane). All that with the enormity of my growing luggage was no small task...I was exhausted at days end. But I was met in Belfast by some wonderful people. Philip Simpson, a man who works with my mom, had sent his parents to pick me up. I would have happily gone home with anyone even remotely friendly at that point, but they were great. I spent the weekend with Philip in the north coast of Northern Ireland. Driving along the coast is beautiful...there are these really cool rock formations called Giant's Causeway that was amazing.

I am now in Dublin for the day. I am staying near Belfast with Jim Martin and his wife Karrie Lee. They are really great people. Jim went to Valley for a bit before he met his wife and moved over here. It is a great story. I may sound like a broken record about the people I have stayed with, but they all have been great...I am blessed. Well, tomorrow I leave the land of Guiness for London, where I will stay for four days in my own flat!!! I was planning on staying with the Weaver's, a family I met through Kent, but they have friends that are out of town and are ok with me staying there. I am psyched!! I will tour London, attempt to go to Wimbledon, maybe do Oxford, and then on to meeting up with my fam!!! I can't wait. I hope everyone is have a good time back home. Talk to ya later.

Advertisement



20th June 2005

yah you would...
wow amazing you went to Dublin n all, d'you see U2 there? hahaha...anyway that's suh-weet you get to stay in your own flat, have fun in London! laters dan
20th June 2005

You are livin' the life.
Man DanYo! It is good to hear about all the stuff you're doing. It is also good to say that I am freaking Jealous!!! And know that I should be because you are receiving some outrageous blessings right now. Hey drink a pint or two for me while you are traveling. I miss you stud and hope the rest of Europe goes well for you as well. Thanks for the blogs. They are good times.
20th June 2005

chello
hi i sadly did not get to meet you dan but i am philip's other brother (think you met stevie) glad to hear you had a good time at the coast...and in ireland! maybe we meet some other time, drop by my blog, i will link you and stop by for visits www.supersimbo.blogspot.com
20th June 2005

Guiness for me and U2
I am hoping you had a Guiness for me... and for u2 of course :P
23rd June 2005

this city's got big buildings, i like food, bye
Hey man...been keeping up with you and your blogs and it feels like i have been travelling right along with you....keep soaking it all in and enjoy the experience...looking forward to seeing you when you get back and catching up...till then peace...in the middle east
24th June 2005

slainte
Did you have Palm in Belgium?? please tell me you had Palm. I love that stuff. I had so much beer in Belgium and Holland, i can't remember the names, but I think that you should make Nate take a train up there just to taste some damn good beer and chocolate. I never knew beer had so much flavor, and that chocolate could have so much yummy fat. :) anyway, glad that you are having such a great trip. i only did 2 1/2 weeks solo, and it was enough. maybe next time i could go for longer. let's all get together when y'all get home.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb