Afternoon of Dublin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
July 16th 2010
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 53.3441, -6.26749

As it was, I had only 3 hours to visit as much as I could and also take in a lunch break. The bus dropped us off at the city center about 1 pm and would be back at 4pm. If we missed the bus, we would have to find our own way back to the hotel by either bus, cab, or foot! I headed off to grab the hop on-hop off bus for the three places that I wanted to visit; The National Museum of Archaeology, Dublinia (Viking and Medieval Times of Dublin) , and O'Connell Street (for shopping). The National Museum had a display of bog bodies (more like body parts). These are bodies that were discovered in Ireland of men and women who were sacrificed or killed and then dumped in the bogs. Their skin, hair, and clothing were well preserved by the bog since the Iron Age. I thought it would be interesting, but most of the “bodies” were just parts of the bodies or if there was a body, it was flattened and misshapen. It kind of made me ill just looking at them, especially of one bog body that was just the torso and arms of a man; no head and nothing below the chest! I then took the bus to Dublinia, but decided to grab a bite to eat in Temple Bar (Bar meaning an area not an actual place). By chance the top of Temple Bar's road was closed, so I didn't actually get down to see all the pubs and sites. I got to Dublinia near Christchurch that had 3 floors depicting Viking and Medieval history of Dublin. It wasn't that interesting. I then tried to get to O'Connell street, but missed the bus twice by being on the wrong side of the street each time (one does not cross the street against the light….the drivers do not stop!). So, I walked down to the River Liffey hoping to catch a bus further along the route to try to save some time that I lost. I was just a couple of buildings away from the bus and was waving at the driver, when he left the stop! Now, not only do I not have time for shopping, but I am now going to be late getting back to the tour bus for the trip back to the hotel. So, I went ahead and hailed a taxi. I paid the € 8.00 ($12) fare and got to my meeting point with 20 minutes to spare! When we got back to the hotel about 4:30, I walked over to the Laundromat and picked up my laundry. I hung out in the room the rest of the night. I had a pizza delivered about 7, and then watched the Battle of Britain (about WWII Blitz of London) on the TV. We have a very early wake-up, so I am heading off to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb