Ireland the South Day 14


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
September 23rd 2016
Published: September 23rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Day 14
The last day and the sun is shining, but dew on the ground and a nip in the air demanding full gloves for first hour. A steady climb for 1 1/2 hrs up to Laragh where a brew and sausage rolls is called for at the fuel station cum store. There I used for the first time a new Nescafe coffee machine which asks you if you want more than one shot,takes the cup up into the machine and does a bit of spinning and grinding before presenting you with the perfect specimen. It was a good job I refuelled here because there was nowhere else all the way to Dublin. As it was with he prevailing wind to the rear for most of the time I was in the city outskirts by 1pm and into cafe country by 2pm. After Laragh the gradients were steeper and the little ring was required on quite a few occasions. There were quite a few false summits, about 10 I think, because it kept going up and down for ever across to top. which is wild exposed open moorland and so wild I didn't even see a sheep. I would hate to be up here on a wet day with the wind in my face, or if the cloud came down. As I dropped to Sally Gap from 500 meters to 400, I thought , yea we are now going to descend, only to find i dropped more and then I had to climb back up to 480m. My legs, my legs. Eventually I saw Dublim in the distance when my Garmin said 10km and the signs said 20. What? My Garmin was correct and I glided down the long descent smiling at the few cyclists grinding their way up. What makes cyclists look for hills? Perverse or what? After 15 minutes if fighting the city traffic I found a small cafe and replenished my body fat before tackling more traffic to the hostel. I am glad of my Garmin in cities as it can be a nightmare finding your way around, and gives you confidence at junctions when you are surrounded by so much traffic on a hurry to beat the lights. Dublin has loads of cycle lanes and cycle/bus lanes which gives you a bit of safety but changing direction and lanes can be a bit hairy, but all in all the cars are courteous enough of you give good signals. My fluorescent pannier covers also help me to be seen more easily. Back at the hostel I am the first in my dorm of 5 bunk beds so I have chosen a bottom bunk near the door so that I can slip out easily at 6.15 to get to the ferry for home. Another country covered now which makes that 17 I have cycled in to date. A summary of Ireland is to follow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.473s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb