Seeing Green


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
March 30th 2009
Published: March 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We're going to see a patch of grass?



So, I have read almost every Maeve Binchy novel written. My favorite was, of course, Circle of Friends. And what was mentioned in there that was on my list of Must See Places for Dublin? That's right, St. Stephen's Green.

One would think that since this was one of my must sees I was excited to be walking towards it. However, what I was really thinking was, "We're going to see a patch of grass?" Because in the States our parks are really more like patches of grass. I should have expected more of a nation of people who can landscape a 10 foot by 10 foot yard into a place where you just want to sit and drink tea all day.

For those who haven't been to, or are planning to go to, Dublin, St Stephen's Green is a MUST SEE! It is more than a park it is an atmosphere. And green isn't the only color you will see, at least not while we were there in April. We were frustrated with each other, it had rained a million grey raindrops already and we had left Trinity College to to see a patch of grass. As one of my companions would say, meh. When we got to the Green though all the tension, frustration and clouds just melted away.

That's part of the magic of Ireland, one minute you're in a world that is grey and wet and cold and the next minute you step into completely new world. In this world the sun is kissing every individual blade of grass and every flower petal. Colors that a minute ago were lost in the recesses of your memory are suddenly new and glorious. Not remembered, it's like you never saw them before until that moment. And there are swans (or were they geese?) and busts of men with snippets of poetry (presumably written by them) and children frolicking in the perfectly manicured lawns and people falling in love and meandering streams. And you just know suddenly why Dublin was the inspiration for authors, poets, artists and rebels.

Oh, yeah. And there are Italian men whom I do not know who are taking pictures with me and kind of following us around. And then we're walking along all zen and relaxed and a cute Irish guy walks by and then I smell it, marijuana. And suddenly I understand why perhaps the new generation of Irish artists are plastering what I thought were Grateful Dead stickers all over their "supplies." Yep, they didn't have anything to do with music, it was a "Legalize Cannabis" sticker. And that illustrates that, though I am very intelligent, sometimes I am just dense.

But, Italian men and cannabis smoke aside, the Green is a magical place. There is a Famine Memorial there (I promise I will post a picture soon) that is just breathtaking.

So, if you find yourself in Dublin thining, "I'm going to see a patch of grass?" go anyway and experience the mysticism that has launched a thousand imaginations.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb