The hard part


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
August 18th 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well Monday morning came and the decision was made over the weekend to just make the move...im young and have a travel itch i gotta get rid of. And ive been to Rome 3 times and always said i wanted to live there...heres my chance!

So i told my friends and family and went into work Monday morning...hungover 😊...and handed in a months notice to both employers. I think shock was the initial reaction but they understood that i was doing it for the right reasons. I don't think i was able to concentrate in work at all and i bought my ticket...one way to Rome (Da Vinci) at 3.20pm on September 29th 2008 (€99). I rang the bar manager from Rome and have been put on the roster for starting work on October 6th 2008.
I then spent the day in shock myself...I was actually doing this !!! Sad that i was actually leaving all my friends and family and dog but its only a few months...it will fly by!

I bought my Italian dictionary...phrasebook and downloads for my i-pod and have started to learn already. I don't think i will have a problem, its sticking already and practice makes perfect.

All im worried about now is finding myself a place to stay, i will need to share an apt with a few others coz its cheaper but its all part of the experience really! Somewhere close to the bar which is near Piazza Venezia would be perfect bit if worse comes to worse, ill buy a push bike to save on travel expenses. There is a new scheme in a lot of European cities now for Bike Sharing but unfortunately its only suitable during day hours and for short trips (Roma'n'Bike its called in Rome)

http://bike-sharing.blogspot.com/2008/06/bon-giorno-roma.html

Italian / English speakers would be perfect roommates so i can practice my Italian on them. Theres a few websites im using for this:

http://www.easystanza.it
http://rome.en.craigslist.it/roo/

Ive also found a good website that translates languages for free which im finding very useful:

http://www.worldlingo.com/en/products_services/worldlingo_translator.html

All i gotta do now is save save save for the next 5 weeks. Need to buy myself a laptop coz thats probably going to be a necessity so i can keep in contact with everyone and write a decent travel blog. Need to stock up well on contact lenses also.

Gym membership has been cancelled, internet bill has been cancelled! Its all coming together!



Advertisement



21st August 2008

I really admire what you are doing!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb