walking the strange streets of Dublin.


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
August 13th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We are in Dublin. It’s raining on and off. We’re staying in the City Manor. A fairly poor place at Gardiner Street, corner Parnell Street but it’s cheap and dry. Last night we spend at the Dublin airport. Our plane left two hours late in Frankfurt and once in Dublin we couldn’t find a bus going in the City at this time. Luckily for us we met two German girls who hat to catch a plane early next morning. They provided us with tons of information where to go and what to do and stuff. Then we put our sleeping bags out and tried to get some sleep. At six in the morning we finally got a bus and made it into Dublin downtown.
We spend the day getting a prepaid cell then calling up some couchsurfers. We’re invited to dinner tonight. Apart from that we did the sightseeing in Dublin. Frankly speaking there’s not really much of it. It’s nice to see Trinity College or the St. Patrick’s Cathedral but apart from that Dublin is not really pretty. History can be seen in some places you have to look for it though. I think it depends on the people you meet that make a trip great. A lot of times when I was couchsurfing in the States it was only for the people I stayed with that made a boring little town into partyzone. It is also the people that you remember not the couch you stayed on or the lake you jumped in. Therefore I’m looking forward to tonight and meet some CS from Dublin. Right now I feel like I’d like to leave Dublin for the countryside, for the green and for the sea. I also experienced today how good it feels to have base somewhere like for example a host. It’s almost a little bit like a home. You know when you walk the streets there is a house that you can come back to, where it is warm and safe and where is a person that knows you are there and who is waiting for you caring even. That means a lot to me in a strange city where I don’t know anybody. For some weird reason it is more important to me here in Ireland, than it was in the US. Maybe because I was used to how thinks work there. Ireland is, to some extent, a complete new experience.
We have to leave know for Rory’s place. He’s the guy who invited us for tonight.
So thanks again for reading my block. Comment me, I would really appreciate it.
So long
Chris



Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb