Cliffs of Moher


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Clare » Doolin
August 15th 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Freitag 15. Aug. 2008 Doolin,

It is Friday night. The rain is pouring outside and trickling against the windows. I am sitting next to the fireplace on a wooden bench. The radio plays Beethoven’s 6th symphony. I have my legs stretched out towards the fire.
It sounds quite romantic, doesn’t it? We are on Doolin on the west coast of Ireland. Early this morning we got the bus to Galway then hitchhiked south. It has been raining most of the day but we were fine for the longest time. It took us three rides to get down here. The Hostels are all full, but we got a spot on a campsite in which facilities we are warming up right now.
The day before yesterday we went to meet some other couchsurfer. The Evening was really nice. We met the Dublin Ambassador, Rory who is a very fine guy. And as I mentioned before, good times are made by the people you spend them with. Well so are bad times. It’s a longer story, but in a nutshell another Ambassador tried to force me to let him use my cell. Otherwise I could stop using the couchsurfing project right now. He didn’t exactly say what he would do, but that was not cool at all. That was about the worst thing that happened. I met a bunch of new CS from all over the world.
Yesterday we finished sightseeing in Dublin and changed our plans what to do next. So instead of going to Cork in the southeast we went straight west into Galway. In Galway we attended a catholic service by chance. Even though I haven’t been to a church in a very long time and I usually don’t go, there was something very special. Apart from the priest, who sounded like a fanatic, telling the audience to believe in god and only god as the truth and creator of everything that is, there was a atmosphere of piece in the air. I sat down and for a while I was close to crying. I don’t know why, it wasn’t sadness, more some kind of relieve. The same emotion I felt when I came back from the States after fourteen month abroad. When the plane was about to touch down in Frankfurt there were tears rolling down over my face.
This time it wasn’t as intense but still the feeling was strong. Later when we were walking on the road miles away from the next village I felt simply good. I saw the Atlantic Ocean again and I screamed at the top of my lungs. All that pressure was gone that was created by the hostile city of Dublin. Out on the coast with nobody around but Stefan and me I was just happy.



I think I leave you here today. I’m feeling good now I’m warm I ate and drank. I hope for a rainless night.
Thanks for reading. See you next time.

Have a good night
Chris



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb