Linksmu nauju metu


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
January 1st 2008
Published: January 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ah.
Another holiday season survived!

And this one was not only survived, triumphed really. For my record books. First christmas without my family, strange enough. First christmas with no snow? First christmas eve dinner, taking the turkey out of the oven at midnight? First time opening presents at 4:00 christmas morning. First sleeping until 3 pm christmas day. First rain on christmas. I think i could make a list from here to winnipeg on all the firsts.
Something to consider: in spain they wear red underwear on new years because it brings good luck. They also feed eachother grapes during the countdown... 1 grape for every second.
I´ve rung in the new year with my lithuanian workmates. It was a night to remember (or not depending on your consumption), doused in mojitos and margaritas. Managed to get on the roof for the big countdown (which i kind of mumbled my way through... not so fluent in my lithuanian yet) and as soon as the clock struck 12 mother earth unleashed all the rain she´d been saving for the occasion. So five minutes of wrecked soggy fireworks on the horizon, and we went back inside. You know youre in ireland when...

I quit my job last week, and am happy to report that it wasnt and isnt easy for me to leave. Theres something to be proud of when you quit before you hate your job, i think. Next week I will begin the "start 08 with a fiesta expedition" as i leave for madrid on the 8th. The plan is to go stay with patri and her family for a few days in madrid, then up to pamplona to stay with raul, swing by san sebastián for a few, then to la rioja with laura and her family. For those who havent been salivating over a map of spain for the past week, that means im going to madrid, and then to the northern parts of spain. In the spring i plan to go back to see barcelona and the more touristy southern parts. The 26th i´ll hop a €19 flight to paris. From Paris i´ll train to Lyon to stay with a friend.
Then back to dublin, and the theme for february is "get a job, loser."

Pronounce the title "Link smoo nah you mah too" and say happy new year. May it be another year of firsts, over and over again!!
Now im going to go look for my passport for the first time this year. Im sure i put it somewhere BRILLIANT this time.







Advertisement



1st January 2008

I totally wore red underwear for new years. didnt know it was good luck, i just like red bras and panties. teehee!
1st January 2008

Weird, I also wore red panties just because that's what I was wearing. I'm so excited for you to go to Spain it's so beautiful there! I'm jealous of your travels!
2nd January 2008

Hey Libby, Happy new Year, enjoy the travels!! Spain is awesome, you'll get a lovely break from teh rain Am super duper DUPER jealous! xxx

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb