My Goodness, my Guinness


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
September 4th 2007
Published: September 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Upon arrival in Dublin, we quickly set out in search of the legendary Black Gold. Aye, and what a treasure it be.

Our visit here is best described as follows:

Awaken. Tend to wounds from the night before. Walk around town. Remark at how amazingly friendly and jolly the Irish are, and how dreadfully unattractive downtown Dublin is. Make our way through the Gaelic city towards the Storehouse. The Guinness Storehouse. Beautiful. Let me take this opportunity to tell you something about Guinness: you can only get it in Ireland. That stuff you drink elsewhere? Not Guinness. I liken it to Fools' Black Gold. The creamy foam itself is a delight - reminiscent of a cold coffee ice cream, slowly dancing its seductive dance on your tongue, teasing you to its beauty. To be obsessed with Guinness is hardly gluttony. No, its lust. Pure unadultered lust.

From this point, we made our way to a 10 person pub crawl, consisting of Canadians, Aussies, and a Yank. Ahhh, how cosmopolitan.

The following is a true recounting of what happened next: I woke up. With nothing but my clothes. In a weird house. In a weird part of town.
Temple BarTemple BarTemple Bar

The touristy bar district of Dublin - here, with one of its glorious, typical, Irish pubs.
Without the Captain. It took me a while before I found my camera, wallet, shoes, and other valuables tucked away in a corner of the house. Upon making outside I learned I was a fair 40minutes from the downtown centre, and presumably, the Captain.

The thing with Black Gold is, a greedy man sees nothing but black...

Facts:
I wore the same clothes for 3 straight days
"If ya don't like condoms, try gonorrhea..."
Sleeping until 3/4pm is really quite easy if you try






Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Stereotypes?Stereotypes?
Stereotypes?

Rush hour in Dublin. God bless the Irish.
The Pearly GatesThe Pearly Gates
The Pearly Gates

We visited St. Peter at the Pearly Gates. We were granted access to heaven for about 3 hours...
Tasting labTasting lab
Tasting lab

..and boy did we...
Got Guinness, part II?Got Guinness, part II?
Got Guinness, part II?

...cause I do...
We love GuinnessWe love Guinness
We love Guinness

We both agree that Guinness (in Ireland) is the greatest beer in the world
The Night I Loved Guinness too muchThe Night I Loved Guinness too much
The Night I Loved Guinness too much

She didn't love me back. Made me sleep in some random house 40 minutes away from the hostel. That pink handcloth? my pillow...


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb