Go on...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Aberdeenshire » Aberdeen
September 1st 2007
Published: September 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Aberdeen architectureAberdeen architectureAberdeen architecture

Glorious castles, we shall beseech you!
I am First Mate Hawkswan, travelling under the leadership and guide of Captain Jones Smitherington. The Captain had been sailing the skies for some time already, but this had been my first venture out under his tutilege. I am eager and I am excited, but am also ready. And this is my tale...

PRELUDE

I arrive in Aberdeen, Northern Scotland with a pack on my back, a pack on my chest, and the cool breeze on my face. Glorious. The sky is intermixed with clouds as I overlook the countryside from the entrance of the airport. Perhaps it was the 12 hours flying, the stiffling airports, or the children who kept complaining, "Mummy...mummy my ears mummy, they hurt mummy. Why aren't you helping me mummy? I cahn't mummy, I cahn't" - but that breeze was quite possibly the most glorious thing my face had ever felt. And that view of the rolling Scottish countryside the most beautiful thing my eyes had ever set upon.

But alas, the Captain awaited. I hopped on the bus and went into city centre where I met the Captain. An odd fellow, this captain, he stands approximately 6foot yet has the presence of
Harry Potter, the barkeepHarry Potter, the barkeepHarry Potter, the barkeep

I guess Voldamort won afterall? Harry served us many a spell which led to many an adventure...
a man 100 feet tall, no lie. It did not take long for me to learn as to why I was sequestered for this journey: the Captain's navigation skills had been slipping as of late, and it took us approximately an hour to find our way to his friends house.

The Granite City, so it is appropriately called, is lined with large granite castles and buildings in which cobblestone streets wind their way through. However, the lush greenery keeps the city picturesque and far from a stone prison. Surely, it didn't take long before we would advance on the castles and make our mark.

We decided to mark this town with our very own pub crawl at Slain's Castle - a wonderous place of spells, hidden rooms, and the infamous Harry Potter himself (now a barkeep, since he dropped out of Hogwart's University). From which point we visited several cathedral pubs - the Scots surely have no need for repentance, so why not have a pint instead?

And then, the expected happened. Scottish Soccer Hooligans...sorta. Actually, Scottish Friend Hooligans may be a more appropriate title. The Captain and I learned early on, that the Scots actually befriend
My first spellMy first spellMy first spell

I cast the spell of cheap 2 for 1 steaks at Slain's Castle!
others by forcing their phone upon them, and not leaving their side. Be wary travellers...

On a side note, who the hell measures things in stone, anyway?


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Chim-chimineyChim-chiminey
Chim-chiminey

Aberdeen's picturesque chimneys
FREEDOM!!!!FREEDOM!!!!
FREEDOM!!!!

Ten feet tall and blows lightning bolts out his arse...


12th October 2007

I lived there. For six months. It is grey. And cold. And many football holligans. But there is much too drink and delicious food can be found at The Beautiful Mountain.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb