time off!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
September 3rd 2007
Published: September 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I´m back to work! Starting at one, so I thought id use my extra time to update.

I had some lovely time off this past week: i went to Howth, a county of dublin on tuesday. Gorgeous town, and I had the luck of finding a ferry to take me to a nearby island! Fantastic climb, and view. But on the way back down I found myself ankle deep in a swamp (it was covered in plants), in my shock i start running... only to become knee-deep! haha, it was hilarious!! so i went to the only clothing store there, bought some strange pants for too much money, went for a late publunch after fruitlessly looking to buy shoes. Still, all in all a nice day! Then I took the DART back home, and threw my trainers out.

Wednesday I worked, thursday I had off becaues I had concert tickets: Regina Spektor! By day i read in the park, and by my luck the volunteer meeting for fringe festival was changed to that day. So i went to that, it turned out to only be 15 minutes long so i didn´t miss any of the concert, which, by the way, was AMAZING. Really grand show. And I met two irish girls, who i hope to see again this weekend.

Friday I worked, and then saturday me and Matt went and got our rental car (nissan mini.. so small!!) and we DROVE THROUGH IRELAND!! aaah, gorgeous. It was crazy. Saturday we drove from 10 till 9, taking the scenic route to our hotel in bantry. We wanted to do the ring of kerry, but it would have added 5 hours to our drive, and put us in the dark. The country roads are so narrow!! It was very exciting, i got to drive half the time, and a manual car no less. Stick shift on the left... what?! Confused me to no end. (not to mention my standard skills are none too pro) And europeans drive like madmen! Really! But by sunday when we left at 10 for cork I felt much more used to it, although in the cork city centre (2nd biggest), i almost crashed into oncoming traffic whilst turning left. aah, these things happen i guess! Cork was brilliant, though. The accents there are SO strange, and we happened upon a day where there was a folk festival in teh city centre! So we walk up to this stage area in the street, and as it turns out they were having irish dancing, so i got right in there. Matt held my stuff, haha. It was crazy! around a hundred people hopping about in the streets doing this crazy do-si-do stuff to live music.. exhausting, really... but such fun! So now I want to learn how to irish dance... there must be pubs here that have it.

Anyway, all in all a lovely trip, and week. Lots of time off, what can you expect? Tonight is polish night here at the apt, nadia is coming over to feed us because she lost a bet, ahha.





Advertisement



3rd September 2007

OH WOW YOU
SAW REGINA SPEKTOR! THATS MAGICAL! SO JEALOUS! Glad it was wonderful. I read 4 of your books! in 4 days :] haha and I read between you and me again (I couldn't remember if I had read it...) and I looove that book!! I ACTUALLY ADORE IT!! I read it 2 times This weekend!! OY! FUFUS HOME I SHALL GO SAY HOLA!
4th September 2007

finish your thoughts!
paula!! what other books!! tell meeee!! HIGH SCHOOL STARTS SOON. I DONT KNOW WHAT DAY. TELL MEEE THAT TOO.
6th September 2007

hu?
whats a Nissan Mini. I tried to look it up, but I can't find it. Do you have pics of your awsomley new expensive pants?
13th September 2007

lovely...
your time sounds so grand you won't be here for you birthday! missing your face muffin chops

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb