Welcome to Ireland


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin » Ballsbridge
June 5th 2013
Published: June 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I am so excited to be in Ireland! My journey began yesterday in Birmingham and now I am in Dublin, Ireland! This morning we have been walking around Dublin. We have gotten to see some of the sites and gotten a brief history lesson on parts of Dublin. We saw the Christ Church and talked about the history. We saw where some of the vikings' homes were and how they were laid out. We toured Trinity College Dublin and learned about the history of the buildings. It was so neat to see the different buildings and hear about the men who built them. The man who built one building was fired because it was to plain. The men who built the natural history museum were fired because their building was too elaborate. Then we saw the library and the man who built that building was not fired because his building was just right. After that we went to the old library and saw the Book of Kells. That was very interesting. I got a pamphlet with information about the book and I got a couple in different languages. I have enjoyed touring Dublin and learning about the history of the town.
The SpireThe SpireThe Spire

398 feet tall
We got to see the statue of O'Connel and learned about how people viewed him. He was a well respected man. On the statue are four angels that represent different things. There are several gunshots from the 1916 rebellion. We also got to see the 398 ft art piece. It was really high and difficult to see the top. One interesting fact that I learned today was how the roads are named for different animals and the roads came from animal tracks. We had dinner at the oldest pub in Dublin, The Brazen Head. That was really neat. It is so nice to be here in person and learn about the history of Ireland. This will help me to have a better understanding of the history I will be teaching my students. I am so excited about the rest of the trip.

Advertisement



5th June 2013

Great to hear from you
Sounds very interesting what you saw and learned today! Sorry I couldn't hear or see you very well when you were skyping with me. Can't wait to see some pictures! Have a wonderful time learning about Ireland! I love you! Mom

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb