First post!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin » Ballsbridge
January 12th 2011
Published: January 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Dublin01Dublin01Dublin01

river liffey early in the morning on first day

Dublin so far!



So I arrived in Dublin about 5 days ago with my 2 gigantic suitcases and no clue where to go. I hopped on some bus and finally found my way to Trinity only to get lost several times within the new campus on my way to my apartment, still with my gigantic suitcases and on cobble stone.

After a much needed nap and a bit of unpacking I started to explore. I only immediately needed bedding so I asked a local cop where I could find some. Not only did he help me find the cheapest he knew of but he walked me to the street the store was on so I wouldn't get lost! That's only been the beginning of the endless Irish hospitality.

After finding some food and my bedding, I managed to find my way back to Trinity for another much needed nap... that I woke up from at 7 pm the next day, oops!

During the few days I had still before orientation I continued to explore a lot on my own which really helped to understand the area. I've only been here five days and already I have a
Dublin02Dublin02Dublin02

me in front of the river liffey
pretty good feel of the major roads and major places of interest. As I didn't know much about food yet though, most of my meals were sandwiches and coffee at the plentiful spars or centras (kind of like cvs except also with a cheap deli inside).

Orientation

The first night of orientation was a pizza/wine meet and greet. The second day was full of tours of the campus, library, surrounding area, etc. followed by a literary pub crawl in the evening. They drink a lot here. At each pub there would be a different literary significance, for example James Joyce or Jonathan Swift, and everyone would get a drink. At the first pub I had my very first Bulmer's Irish Cider and have found my irish drink of choice!

During the next few days we've had intro to Ireland courses on various topics such as the Irish civil war, modern Irish history, Ireland economics, architecture, art, and so forth which has proven very handy as I didn't realize how little I actually knew. In between and after lectures though they've taken us on random trips such as the GAA where they play all their sports and have
Dublin03Dublin03Dublin03

ha'penny bridge, used to cost half a penny to cross
a sporting museum, to a play, and on Friday they're taking us to a town called Glendalough!

--------

With respect to getting used to things, I definitely have my apartment almost finished. I have the bedding, a cell phone, hangers, and I finally found the grocery store 2 days ago so I've been cooking my own breakfasts (a lot of porridge, toast and marmalade, and looots of tea) and dinners (lots of cheap pasta and frozen meals haha). I know the roads a little bit but the most confusing thing so far is probably the names / pronunciations for everything. For example, the town glendalough is pronounced glen-duh-lock. And the name ciaran is keer-in. Nothing is pronounced how it's spelled so consequently I am ALWAYS that American girl butchering pretty much every name and word.

The ones I have picked up on are bloody or fooking instead of really (i.e. this coffee is bloody hot), if something is really cool it's brilliant, and little things like hoover is vacuum, bins are trash cans, and the most obvious that chips are nothing like the lays.

That's pretty much all I have for now but as I do
Dublin04Dublin04Dublin04

famous
more I will try and keep updating this!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Dublin05Dublin05
Dublin05

typical
Dublin06Dublin06
Dublin06

Brogan Bar!
Dublin07Dublin07
Dublin07

Entrance to Dublin Castle
Dublin08Dublin08
Dublin08

Dublin Castle
Dublin09Dublin09
Dublin09

inside of Dublin Castle
Dublin10Dublin10
Dublin10

some important building
Dublin11Dublin11
Dublin11

St. Stephen's Green
Dublin12Dublin12
Dublin12

swans at the green
Dublin13Dublin13
Dublin13

Trinity :)
Dublin14Dublin14
Dublin14

the spire on O'Connell
Dublin15Dublin15
Dublin15

entrance to GAA / Croke Park
Dublin16Dublin16
Dublin16

Croke Park
Dublin17Dublin17
Dublin17

Croke Park again


12th January 2011

FANTASTIC
Lauren!!! That was wonderful!!!!! Sounds like you are IN!!!! Loved hearing from you.....can't wait for more! The pictures are awesome too..... Are you warm enuf??? Love ya babe........... Gma S:)
15th January 2011

Hallo!
I was starting to wonder if you were ok since I hadn't seen you online... Sounds like you have been busy... And sounds like fun. I love Ireland and I can't wait to visit you!! Love the photos too...

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb