The day we are all Irish born


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Donegal » Malin
March 26th 2011
Published: March 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hey folks,

I am very late... again! We are now in Ballyliffin. It has been since we left Dublin. I will write about what and where we went since, in my next blog. This one is all about the greatest day of the year after Christmas. I should almost say a week. I have been to all sorts of festivals on four different continents, but I was really looking forward to this one. Did it match my expectation? Not really, alto it was great, but the parade was bad. Nothing is perfect though, the St. Patrick in Dublin is worth a flight around the world.

For a really rare time, maybe the first time, I was well prepare. I booked a room at Isaacs for four nights, last year. But, before going to what seems like the mature version of Disneyland, we were taking a much needed break at a friends house. Three night of total relaxation. Well, that was the plan. Once again, we did not really follow it and went out with Seb, Damien and Caro. I have no regret though, another epic night at the Porterhouse.

This is where the real fun started. We move place being very grateful to Damien for the three great nights of peaceful rest we enjoy away from the chaos of Hostel. That being said, a festival is all about the atmosphere, effervescence and hostel, particularly the Isaacs have a lot of it. The manager welcomed us and upgrade us to a very, very calm room, which is fantastic. We spend the first day with Caro. She is a friend of Sebastien, who was in Dublin for the week. Sebastien was working, so we gave her a little tour and went for what the Irish call tradition: a pint of black gold in my favorite pub. The second day was better, we again spend the day walking in town, but the place was packed with people from all over the world. The best part of the day was went I met someone from back home out of nowhere. I really enjoy your presence Louis. Meeting people from home when you are travelling is great, but meeting someone when you did not plan on is amazing.

How was St. Paddys day? Great for the people from all around the world we met. Great for the biggest crowd I have ever seen on the same street at 4 am. Bad for the parade. There were no leprechauns!!! I just think it is a bit overrated, but it is still one of the best party in the world. I will go back for sure if I have the occasion. I think we should all experience it one day. Next time, I will be in Galway.

Next blog very soon. Aran islands, Galway, Sligo, Strandhill and the most Northern Point of Ireland. Until then stay tuned.

Nick





Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.368s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 25; qc: 108; dbt: 0.1626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb