Nausea


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Donegal » Donegal
March 9th 2011
Published: June 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Bangers and Mash!Bangers and Mash!Bangers and Mash!

Finally found some, and these were tasty! It's not really Irish, though- it's British.
Geo: 54.66, -8.12

So, yesterday was not as much fun as either of us were planning on it being. I had a stomach ache all night the night before, but I thought maybe I was just hungry. No big deal.

Yesterday morning, we took a Black Cab tour of Belfast. They drove us around to view the different Catholic and Protestant neighborhoods with their policital murals and separated by "peace walls" (ironic name, eh?). The unemployment rate in Belfast is 33%- that's insane.

Anyway, yesterday we drove out to Glen veagh ("Glen vay"😉. It's a castle in the highlands of the middle of nowhere on a lake. Being the middle of nowhere, that meants 2.5 hours driving on curvy bumpy roads on a bus in the rain. NOT fun. My stomach ache just got worse and worse. Chris picked a bad day to experiment with his scopalamine patch (it's supposed to last 3 days, and he wanted to see if it would last a 4th). We took a 20min tour of the castle. Miraculously, I felt okay for about 20min, long enough to climb up to a view point on a cliff above the castle. It was insanely windy up there! I don't think
BelfastBelfastBelfast

Protestant Political Mural
I've ever been in wind like that! My beanie almost flew off several times. Quite a rush, though.

The ride back to Derry did me in. First of all, I don't get why we went back to Derry for the night. This tour isn't moving around the country in an order that makes sense. It just means more driving. Chris had the beginnings of a migraine and I wanted to puke my guts out. We both crawled into bed at 5pm and curled in the fetal position in our bunks all night. lol.

We both feel better again today. I'm hoping to dear god that was just a small virus because I have 6 more days of this driving! I'm also thinking that hostels are full of germs.... viruses... Mmmmm. Great place for a girl like me... weak ass immune system and all. lol, it figures.

Today we are supposed to drive around Sligo if the weather is good. If not, we may end up at a museum.


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

BelfastBelfast
Belfast

Protestant Political Mural
BelfastBelfast
Belfast

Protestant Political Mural
BelfastBelfast
Belfast

Protestant Political Mural
BelfastBelfast
Belfast

Protestant Political Mural
BelfastBelfast
Belfast

Protestant Political Mural
BelfastBelfast
Belfast

Red Cab from the Black Cab Tour (heehee)
Belfast Belfast
Belfast

"Peace Wall" separating the two neighborhoods. This one is the highest in Belfast and its covered in messages from travelers from around the world. Most are just peoples names and messages of peace, but a few of them are funny.
BelfastBelfast
Belfast

Peace Wall
BelfastBelfast
Belfast

Neato message
It's COLD!It's COLD!
It's COLD!

Damn right it was... bitter freakin north wind that day
BelfastBelfast
Belfast

Catholic Political Mural
BelfastBelfast
Belfast

Catholic Political Mural
BelfastBelfast
Belfast

Catholic Political Mural
BelfastBelfast
Belfast

Catholic Political Mural
Me 'n Chris in front of the Black CabMe 'n Chris in front of the Black Cab
Me 'n Chris in front of the Black Cab

And it's actually black... classy like that.


10th March 2011

Hey, I am sorry you were not feeling well. Get as much rest as you can when you can. Anyhow, enjoy everything as well as you can and when you are better, you will have a lot more fun. Miss you but really love your blog.
10th March 2011

yeah...ummm...I should have warned you about that. Some of Paddy's hostels leave much to be desired. There are some good ones too though. I took it as all part of the traveling experience.
12th March 2011

all I see is "TOPGUN"awesome.
12th March 2011

I am NOT kidding when I say I want many of the pictures you are taking blown up and framed for my future house. GORGEOUS colors!

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0871s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb