Cork


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
June 2nd 2012
Published: June 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Saturday June 2 – Cork - I arrived in Cork around 11:30. The bus trip went though some green countryside which was quite beautiful. Really some lovely country here. When I arrived in Cork I gathered up my stuff and did the long hike dragging my suitcase up the hill to the hostel. Next time I’m not going to be El Cheapo but will get a cab. According to the web page this was supposed to be a 5 minute walk…..I guess if you are a horse. (I figured out later I could have taken the #226 bus for E1.70 ,which would have taken me from the bus station to Kent Station which is the train station across the street from the hostel. If I had come in on a plane the #226 bus runs from the airport to the train station as well. Anyway I found the Aaran House hostel and got settled in before the rain started. It’s been raining all day since. I eventually decided I had to get some tea and sugar at least so I caught the 205 bus from in front of the train station down to the city Center and shopped a bit at Dunnes and explored in the rain a bit and then caught a cab back to the hostel. The cab only cost E5.30 , which when you consider I was carrying a lot of stuff and it was raining was surely worth it. Looks like I will just drink my tea and do some homework for the rest of the day. The rain doesn’t show any sign of stopping.

I later thought to look in the train station at the little store in it to see what is available there. I could have gotten milk, butter, sugar, etc there. I would have paid a little more but it would have been worth it in convenience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

I got the bottom bunk I got the bottom bunk
I got the bottom bunk

I got the bottom bunk by luck as the beds are assigned here.
bunkbeadsbunkbeads
bunkbeads

The room had 8 beds. I shared it with 7 young women.
sinksink
sink

This sink never gave more than a trickle of hot water
stairsstairs
stairs

No elevator
Table for eatingTable for eating
Table for eating

This was the table for eating. I converted half of it into my office while I was here. While the hostel was full hardly anyone ever came in here.


Tot: 0.628s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 22; qc: 79; dbt: 0.32s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb