Ennis


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Clare » Ennis
June 1st 2012
Published: June 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

June 1stFriday - I’m in the reception area/café at the Doolin Hostel waiting on my bus #337 to Ennis. It will zoom by me first and go down to Doolin Hostel to take a half hour break, then it will come back here and pick me up at 12:35. That should get me into Ennis around 14:10. Then I will have the proverbial Irish “10 minute walk” to the hostel from the bus station.

I’ve been up since about 9 and got checked out of my room and have been in the reception area using their WIFI and drinking my tea with a banana. My usual breakfast.

I have set up my office and been hard at it….Living a life of leisure is hard work.



Friday Afternoon – Ennis - I had another roller coaster ride across the quite lovely Irish Countryside and once again felt a little seasick. When we came into Ennis I noticed that we were stopping right next to the Rowan Tree Hostel after turning off Harmony Row onto Newbridge Road. It must have been a requested stop as several people were getting off although it was not on the schedule. So I grabbed my stuff and got off as well.



This was a big break for me as I was not looking forward on lugging my suitcase and bag from the bus station to the hostel. It was well over a mile and a half on crowded narrow streets.



To make a long story short after checking into the hostel and locking up my computer and papers in a locker I explored the town and found a Dunnes on OConnel St which had a Bank of Ireland ATM, and found a great pizza place called Numero Uno Pizzeria at 3 Barracks St. I got a Calabrese Pizza which was as close to one that I would get in the states as I have found in Ireland so far and it was delicious.



After eating I walked the rest of the way to the bus station and found out where it was for tomorrow. I talked to a cabbie waiting there and she told me that if I called a cab for tomorrow to take me from the Rowan Tree to the bus station it would be about 8 Euro’s. I think I will do that instead of lug that suitcase that far on a crowded street.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The bus and train station at EnnisThe bus and train station at Ennis
The bus and train station at Ennis

A very long walk from the station to the Rowan Tree Hostel. I think I will catch a cab to it tomorrow.


2nd June 2012

photo 10
what is photo no.10 ,your becoming a resident there, your pizza looked inviting have a safe trip
2nd June 2012

shops
Photo 9 and 10 are shops at the Cliffs of Moher.

Tot: 0.517s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 20; qc: 75; dbt: 0.194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb