yay! just finished!!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
March 25th 2010
Published: March 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

haha ok i have exited my hermitage! I am FINALLY done-- for this week at least!!!! I need to remember that i have two more papers due the beginning of next week that i havent started yet but hey at least I am done with my two papers for tomorrow!

So now to recount for the last few days?? Is it strange that I can't really remember what happened... oh ya- Tuesday I went to volleyball practice, my arms are still really bruised but at least they didnt swell this time 😊 I am getting better too. nice to know 7 years didnt go completely to waste when i quit. i had my oral exam for irish that day and it went pretty well. the teacher is really great and helped us out when needed, it wasnt quite as bad as i had thought it would be so that was nice. I completely made myself crazy though by making flashcards! That was so stupid. It was just really overwhelming and I should have remembered that when i do that my selective photographic memory cant work cause it doesnt have anything to relate to or picture. so my vocab was pretty spotty and i was freaking out. But for the wednesday test i finally opened and looked at the book that we got at the beginning but never used because our teacher put all lessons on blackboard. So once i started reading that i was fine and then when i went in on wednesday i could see the pictures in my head and read the words off the page in my memory (i love when that happens!!) kinda strange and freaky sometimes but makes tests like that really fun. wednesday i also went to yoga with lara and was able to be really relaxed! Then came home to work on my essays. oh i also went over to the crawford art school and was able to go in and use the library there. HOLY MOLY!! it felt like dexter and i really wish i had been able to spend more time there because it was fabulous!! but it made me realize that no matter where you study, you still learn the same things and the people are pretty much the same. it was funny walking through the halls and hearing people talk. minus the accents they are my art friends from back home and it made me really really happy. im going to go back tomorrow to work in the library again, kinda excited!

Today: I had class this morning that finally put into perspective the entire class over the last few months. That is the class that i have kind of been feeling behind in so it all finally kind of made sense. It is so weird that that is my last class in ireland! WOW i actually made it through. i still have those two papers, one paper due in may and 4 exams in may but im done with the actual teaching period and it just blows my mind. Also in a few days i will have been here for 3 full months... where has the time gone?? my roommates are all really homesick so its getting harder and harder to avoid the trap but i am trying to push through. I think what is keeping me going is how much i absolutely love it here. I have been thinking a lot about going home lately though, as a consequence of my roommates, and it has made me more depressed at the thought of leaving than of homesickness. I love everyone at home and will be happy to return but the thought of not coming back here, to this place that has become my home, is really sad. Every time I have traveled I have gotten that feeling of wanting to return to cork and i can't even contemplate the time when i will not be able to return with this still being my base. Yes i might be able to return someday but i know it just wont be the same. The abroad experience I had always dreamed of has not even come close to what i have actually gone through here. I dont think i could ever explain how much this time has meant to me and luckily i still have a couple more months to go. so enough of my inner-psycho thoughts!!

i hope you guys have a better than fantastic day!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0824s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb