cinnamon= death: something i really should remember!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
March 16th 2010
Published: March 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Absolutely best thing about the last two days: I got a box of homemade cookies from my roommates back home 😊 with cards from each of them. I read them on the way to the gym and was laughing the whole way, which i'm sure made me look like an idiot but i was happy and didnt care!!!! i love all of them so much!! (and if you guys are reading this-- THANK YOU!!!)

All i had on monday, since my culture class got canceled, was my irish language review which showed me that i really, really need to study!! my test is split: oral on tuesday and written on wednesday. and in the last two days the teacher has tried to cram in what we havent yet covered, thankfully we only have one more class and then he will hopefully just start cutting things out. yikes!! this weekend is going to be interesting! plus in the next two weeks, i have 4 essays coming due so I really need to get on researching and writing those. luckily though, there arent exams for those till may, so the papers are all i need to worry about for now. My official classes actually end this week for all my art history ones and the week after for the two others! i cant believe it!!! Soon april will be here and i will be off to venice, paris and oh i forgot to tell you, i bought tickets to london yesterday!!! so which means my moma will be really happy since that means i will be less likely to be backpacking around ireland for any length of time. but i am still trying to work that out, so dont get too excited.

after class i returned to find kasey making zucchini bread. (moma cover your eyes- or at least don't freak) so yeah, it had about two tablespoons of cinnamon in it and granted once cooked i probably would have been fine, but she and i started snacking on the actual batter. i realize that was really stupid, okay. yes, i know i am allergic to cinnamon but it was so good and i always think that somehow i will magically not be allergic anymore or not as allergic. dont worry, i didnt die, haha but about 15 minutes after eating there was a few good hours where my whole mouth and tongue were numb and i had to breathe really deeply. kasey said she would carry me to the hospital if i needed it, but it wasnt that bad. But lara did wake me in the middle of the night cause she said that i was gasping for air and she was worried that something was wrong 😞 a little scary and i definitely learned my lesson this time! I am fine, i promise!! I am probably making it sound a lot worse than it was. But I will not even go near cinnamon for a good while, cooked or uncooked- you have my word- this time scared me just a little too much.

Now that i have thoroughly worried you all-- Today I went to my approaches class where we talked about gender and its social construction. Having discussed that very topic in 3 other classes now, I feel i definitely have a handle on it haha. it was actually pretty interesting to see it approached through art history and i was really glad that i had the foundational theories in my head so i knew what the teacher was talking about and where the artists were coming from. but ya after that i ran to try to make my exercise class but because of a long queue, i once again missed the time slot to get a ticket 😞 Instead I ended up running 3 miles and left feeling wonderfully worked out :D I came back and worked a little on organizing my essays and gathering info but soon after decided to take a nap 😊 hehe i love my naps!! Then i was off again for my irish and postmodern classes. in between though i started working on a new scarf for the mother of the little girl i am making the bunny for (still havent figured out how to make the body yet by the way), it is really pretty though. i learned how to do the star stitch which basically just looks like a circle to me, but? i really have to pay attention but it will be beautiful in the end and since i didnt finish in time for mothers day, my plan is to give it to her and her daughter for her birthday in april.

after that i was supposed to go to a ceili dance at grace church but things got really confused and messed up and it started to rain, so that didnt happen. But with it being lara's only st. patrick's celebration in ireland, since she is leaving us to go collect her award in florida tomorrow, kasey and i decided to take her out. That also became confused and messed up and we ended up back here having really only walked around the entire city. Which by the way- it was CRAZY out!! if the night before st. patty's day is that mad, i don't know if i even want to leave the apartment tomorrow other than to go to the parade during the day. Apparently people throw things at you, not gonna lie, im a little scared. But we shall see what happens??

So that is the update up till now. Sorry i didn't write yesterday, with the whole cinnamon thing, I figured you all would forgive me. I hope you all have a fabulous day and are looking forward to an epic St. Patrick's Day!!!!!! dont forget to wear green- thats an order 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb