It's Been Too Long!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
February 24th 2010
Published: February 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

St. Anne'sSt. Anne'sSt. Anne's

The tower of St. Anne's Cathedral, fish weather vane and all!
Sorry I haven't updated in ages! Life's been busy-ish.

I have learned to love marketing on Saturdays. It makes me feel industrious and in control. I love going to the English Market just to look around, but since this Saturday was my 100-days-left-of-studying-in-Cork mark, I went a bit mad and made a fancy dinner, so I did more than look at the English Market! I got a salmon fillet and organic kale, then made a four-berry and black pepper sauce.

This weekend was also style and fashion weekend! My roots were getting out of control, so I went in to a salon and said I wanted all the blonde cut off. They stylist was really dubious, but I assured her that was what I wanted. She did leave a little bit of blonde at the tips, which actually looks very cool. So now I have SUPER short, mostly brown hair.

Also, because I didn't travel anywhere this month (except around Cork and Shandon! I'll get to that in a moment), I decided it would be okay to spend a lot of money on some REALLY cool shoes. I had been looking for a pair of brown leather boots
A Bit of CorkA Bit of CorkA Bit of Cork

This is a bit of the city: My Bit! That pinkish apartment building to the far right is Leeside Apartments, where I live.
FOREVER, and a girl from Galway told me about a store called Schuh, which we have in Cork as well. They had the PERFECT boots, and gave a 15% student discount, plus a fifteen euro discount on your next purchase after any purchase of 30 euro or more. I got the discount on the boots and used my fifteen euro gift card on a pair of insanely awesome high heels to wear to the ICFA banquet in Orlando in THREE WEEKS!!!! I know. I'm in an exotic, foreign locale; you don't want to hear about shoes! So:

Shandon! I don't think I posted about Shandon yet. It's the town right across the river from my apartment complex, and there is a famous cathedral there: St. Anne's, where the Shandon Bells are located. I went up the tower and rang them, then went further up and stood in the room where the bells were (they rang right in front of me! I had ear protectors on, so it was okay! Then I went even FURTHER up, and out onto the balcony. I could see for MILES! It was a beautiful day, too. We've had LOTS of those the last week,
BellsBellsBells

One of the (8?) Shandon Bells.
but now it's good ol' Irish gloom and drizzle once again.

Here are some lovely pictures of the blooming crocuses, and me cooking, and Shandon, and life in general. Enjoy! And, if you're inclined, come visit! I'd love visitors. If not a visit, mail is always welcome. I may even send you something in return!

Leeside Apartments
1A Grattan Street
Cork, County Cork, Ireland


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Vibes & ScribesVibes & Scribes
Vibes & Scribes

My favorite place in Cork, the craft and bookstore down the road from our apartment.
Rabbit BusRabbit Bus
Rabbit Bus

The buses here look like rabbits... : )
FriendsFriends
Friends

Me and Rebekah and Kasey, lovely flatmates.
Spring Has Sprung!Spring Has Sprung!
Spring Has Sprung!

The crocuses here are blooming. It's amazing.
FishmongerFishmonger
Fishmonger

A giant fish in the English Market.
Kiss The Cook!Kiss The Cook!
Kiss The Cook!

Making my berry sauce. Mmmm...


26th February 2010

Show us some more of the haircut
That shot of the cooking is a good view of the haircut, but would like to see it from the front, too! Thanks for all the 'daily living' shots - it's great to see the places you talk about. Think you could get the choral director to take a shot of all of Choral Society and post it on the blog?

Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb