Time to Say Goodbye!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
September 17th 2008
Published: September 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well it's nearing the dreaded moment when we have to say goodbye to friends and family again, but for the first time, I don't feel sad about where I'm going to. I have really enjoyed my stay here, but am looking forward to getting back to India and the good weather again. However it makes it so much easier knowing that I will be back again in the middle of December, so we won't be away for too long. I will meet Mikes mom in the UK and she will travel back with me on the flight from London to Bangalore, so it's great to have someone to travel with. I have already even arranged travel buddies for the next flight back in January too. My mother and my four Aunts have already booked to return to India with me in January for three weeks. Yes you heard that correctly, my mother and FOUR aunts. We will have quite a bit of bed tetris to do in the house, but I'm really looking forward to it. My friends here were saying that we are like an Indian family anyway, always traveling in large family groups and always spending a lot of time with extended family and that's the reason why I have settled in India so easily. It is true I think, and I must say I'm looking forward to all the fun we will have when they are all over with me in Bangalore :-)

I have to say since I came home, the partying, eating rubbish, going out for lunches and not doing any excercise has taken it's toll on my weightloss, so am looking forward to exercising and eating less when I get back to India again. Even Cael has put on weight :-), but he has also been showing off to everybody and doing yoga positions for them as his party piece, which is very cute actually.

I'd forgotten how small Ireland is, and how much people chat to each other. I went to a chiropractor the other day with pain in my lower back. I had just picked his name out of the golden pages, so didn't know anything about him. We were chatting and it turns out he is the brother of a girl I used to work with when I lived in the Netherlands. She has returned to Ireland with her husband who also worked with me in the Netherlands, so we have got in contact through her brother and swapped stories about our lives since we saw each other last. I was amazed with the coincidence, but Mike did remind me that Ireland is very small and the entire country has half the population of the city we live in at the moment in India.

I have to say however if our purse strings are anything to go by, it's definately time to go back to India with the financial drain Ireland has put on our bank account in only five weeks. Some things seem to have come down in price since I was here four months ago, and since the "credit cruch" which is the Irish term for 'recession'. Things by and large though are still obscenely expensive, not only compared to India, but also compared to most other European countries. Anyway I have another week left to do even more damage to my waist and our bank account and have some fun before heading back to my other home..........


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb