I wanted to see the Burren's but NOT in the friggin' DARK!!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Clare » Doolin
November 7th 2009
Published: November 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Good Morning Everybody! Just had breakfast at the Dubhlinn House recommended by Rick Steves.

First of all, just want to say thankyou to everybody who sent me bday wishes on facebook. If anybody is interested in how I spent most of it...well, most of it was on a scary road from Galway to Doolin last night.

The start of our day was mellow though...we stopped at the abbey to take pics, take a tour and shop. Then we did some quick shopping in Galway also where I found my irish sweater and probably what made us so late. we didn't leave there until 4pm.

We took the shortest route, trying to avoid the darkness...but no luck. I wanted to see the Burren's National Park but not in the friggin' dark!!!! OMG! I was warned of the small narrow and winding roads on the coast but I wasn't expecting to navigate them in the dark. It was pretty scary but we did make it obviously to our destination finally.

We settled in and met our hosts...another group is here from California and Oregon. Then we both needed a serious pint!! We walked down the road to the corner of the town and tried out Fitzpatricks pub. The best irish meal yet in Ireland! Warren had the chicken curry plate and I ordered bacon chops stuffed with cabbage, potatoes cooked in lots of butter, and carrots mashed with parsnips. So good! And the carrots and parsnips were very familiar and a dish I missed a lot...my grandparents used to make it too. Just like home! After a couple of pints, my bday came to an end. We listed to the mellow guitarist in the corner of the pub and watched the news of yet another shooting in Florida. Our thoughts and prayers our with those friends and families at Fort Hood and in Orlando. warren had left a prayer earlier today at the Abbey.

Exhausted from all the stress and emotion....we went back to the b&b and crashed. It is blustery today, Warren and I are exhausted and he would rather not do the dingle coast understandably. As navigator he has been wonderful but honestly we have stressed each other out with this driving tour. Probably not for us. Anyway, we will see the Cliffs of Moher and then make our way back to Adare and find a b&b there.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb