Life at the Ballynahinch castle


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Connemara
November 5th 2009
Published: November 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Okay, somehow i will try to make this quick....

First of all, I survived my first day of driving in Ireland...Yeah!!! Second of all, this place is so- charming and picturesque...I feel like royalty on vacation at a country cottage. It's a fairytale, and a relaxing night well deserved after white knuckling it all the way from Dublin.

I could not have made it without a great co-pilot either. Warren is a great travel partner and compliments my high string when it comes to stressful situations like this. Without the GPS system and Warren telling me to stop veering off into the lefthand ditch...I'd probably still be trying to find my way past all the round abouts. I think there should definitely be a seperate lane for strictly tractors and tour buses....Ugh!

Unfortunately, we did not make it through Cong where the Quiet Man was filmed or drive through most of the Connemara Park but I happily made it from point A to B my first day which is a huge accomplishment in my eyes. We were greeted by two lovely black labs when we arrived at the castle. After settling in, we immediately strolled the grounds taking a quick walk down to the lake and caught a few more great pics including another rainbow in the backdrop. then, onto the cozy room off from the lobby to sit by the fire and enjoy a beer. All the stress has faded away and I'm soaking this all in while I have the chance.

We then moved onto the dining area where we had a gourmet meal. Warren had a crab crepe with a cream sauce for an appetizer, I had a smoked salmon, cream fraiche on blini appetizer. For dinner, delicious duck, filo dough and sauteed onions, potatoes and a peppery black current sweet sauce. I had GNOCCHI of all things...of course! With a mushroom truffled cream sauce and arugula. Loved it.

tomorrow, I will be be 40...but I'm looking forward to waking up early, going on a early morning walk before breakfast with the neighbors dogs. then we will slowly make our way back toward Galway, stopping at a nearby Abbey. Hopefull have lunch at in Galway and do some sweater shopping before heading onto Doolin and the Cliffs of Moher.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb