I Have Wheels


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Clare » Cliffs of Moher
July 7th 2010
Published: July 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

County of ClareCounty of ClareCounty of Clare

Country side
7th July 2010
Today I have wheels, and oh yeh I now have a travel buddy, his name is Tom Tom I tell you he is very bossy but he seems to know his way around, most of the time anyway.
So off Tom and I head, I was set to head for a little place called Gort, in the county of Clare somehow I ended up in a big place called Galway. Tom and I have communication problems when he says sharp left ahead he actually means TURN LEFT! Funny that.
Galway is rather large, it runs along the shore line and the views are picturesque. The homes that line the shore are truly superb. They are large a basic design but fresh and so inviting, most of the home you see are white and black trim, every now and then a home will appear of a different color (lemons, creams not to bold) and it looks like it rubbed off on the neighbors too because that same color seems to pop up within meters of the other. Pebble drive ways and pathways leading to the front door and seldom do you see a home without windows boxes, urns or
County of ClareCounty of ClareCounty of Clare

Counrty Roads
garden border with beautiful flowers fully bloomed. The fences at most complement the homes either stone or rendered.
The roads are very narrow and there is no room to move to the side Most of the time you have to judge the stone fence one side of you and a car the other. It’s an experience I must say and on these roads the limit is generally 100. Buses, trucks, farm machinery, backpackers on bikes, (I take my hat off to them) people walking and the odd cow all mange to successfully tackle their way from one place to another. The Irish are incredibly courteous, and patient along these roads and everyone waves to everyone, it really makes you feel welcome.
Well after several hours of driving I arrived at Lisdoonvarna a tiny little town near Burrenn, I stopped in the town center and went into the local supermarket and asked the shop if no 1 was in the right place and 2 if he knew where the Hostel was. He was just lovely and yes I was in the right town and he gave me directions to the hotel I was on minutes away. As I walked out of
This caught my eyeThis caught my eyeThis caught my eye

I could not resist, I had to stop and take a photo
the shop I hoped into the car quickly realized!!!!! Oh shit I was in the wrong car. I tell you I haven’t moved so fast in such a long time, obviously I’m tired and I’m sticking with that, it has nothing to do the color blonde.
I stayed at a hostel called the sleep zone it was set back on large grounds. I was a lovely place, the staff was very helpful they offered to carry my bags, helped me with directions and overall interested in you and your travels (all this for 15E). I got to my room and I was on my own YEH and I had a bathroom all to myself no little shower cubicle. By the evening the weather had truly turned it was cold, windy and wet, no walks this evening, just FREE WIFI, can catch up on emails etc.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb