Middle of nowhere and major changes


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland
April 4th 2007
Published: April 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm currently working on the idea of giving up the lap of Iceland idea.
There are several reasons for this.
Iceland, I have discovered is very Reykja-centric. As long as you are in the city, you have a large range of activites to choose from and things to do.
Coming into the wilds (and in all seriousness outside Reykjavík with the exception of Akureyri on the north coast Iceland is ALL the wilds) has brought it home to me just how remote it is. I have spent the day so far walking. The scenery is beautiful but there is nothing to do! Apart from bird-watching, which doesn't particularly interest me, it's... boring.
I'm not being defeated by this but it doesn't appeal to me, spending a month or so walking and taking photos whilst spending huge amounts of money on transport and food.
Another bad point is that with the constant moving and the emptiness of hostels at this time of year, I don't meet anyone! I've talked with the hostel owners who are very friendly but apart from that, the social scene isn't thriving. I just feel that being in the back of beyond is a bit of a waste of time. Grudarfjörður is a big place compared to some of the other towns as well and it's still dead!
I left Reykjavík with a few things I still wanted to do as well, which annoys me.
So, my current plan is to return to Reykjavík, get into a hotel there and try to do some more activities, despite expense, to try and fill my stay with as many amazing memories as possible. It's not worth this isolation and lack of anything to do.
This will have a few impacts. My stay will be shorter and my route will change. I'm thinking now of doing everything I can in Reykjavík then going along the south coast, stopping at Skaftafell National Park to see Vatnajökull glacier before going to Seyðisfjörður and ferrying it back, as planned.
This is the wonderful thing about travelling with no itinerary. When things start going off-track, you can right them again.
I'll be in touch soon!
xXx

Advertisement



4th April 2007

Boring birdwatching?!
Thanks for the update Jack- if only Hazel and I were there to introduce you to the wonder and delights of twitching! You'd be begging to stay in the wild backs of beyond seeing birds probably only native to Iceland and reminding them how lucky they are to live where they do, a million miles from the lurking dangers of urban gardens and their feline occupants! Still if a by-product of the major changes is an early bath back in Gledhow I know there'll be too reasonably happy people?!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb