Snowed in


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » North » Akureyri
December 31st 2018
Published: December 31st 2018
Edit Blog Post

Short and sweet one today: I can't stop laughing every time I look outside - we got a dumping of snow... like... this morning roads were essentially closed and you couldn't get in or out of town level of dumping of snow.

I love it.

This morning (while it was still coming down, HARD) I got dressed and went on a winter wonderland exploration walk... which was basically me shuffling through ~20-25cm of snow at that point, none of which was cleared. I'm still laughing about it. All in all apparently we got around ~35cm. It was pretty gusty most of the day though, so you'd be walking and sometimes you'd have like 2cm to get through and other times it was up over my boots. It was fun to do some exploring but I only lasted about 20min - the wind was just a bit too much haha.

I spent the day reading and planning some work stuff (I have a new course to prep Sem 2, ah the life of a teacher). But that's ok - I was able to sit and watch the snow while I did that. I'm now off to the bonfire and the fireworks - it's a ~30min walk there and back so let's see how this goes haha. Fireworks will be a treat though - they've been going off since about 4pm - I actually had a really nice show about 30min ago - the street behind us, a bunch of people were letting them off. Let's see how big they go at midnight 😊

So Happy New Year everyone! Much love and hope this next chapter brings you all the good things in life xo


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.444s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.1649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb