And up to Akureyri I go!


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » North » Akureyri
December 29th 2018
Published: December 29th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Doesn't matter where I go, people always ask me directions lol. The domestic airport in Reykjavik is super tiny - it's like
less than 10 flights a day, and I had 2 different people ask me where the gates are and how to know when to board. I told them were the gate area is, but that generally people wait in this other area because there are more seats. One girl asked: "But how do I know which gate? I don't want to get on the wrong flight!" - There is literally only one flight haha. You good. When they board (10min before departure) you literally walk out onto the tarmac. I love tiny airports, so much less stress and drama.

Flight was short - 40min hop over the highlands. Too bad it was dark, I remember it being a nice view, particularly coming in to land since the airport is in a fjord of sorts. Let me tell you what wasn't nice though - the crazy turbulence shortly before our descent... we descended alright. What's worse than bad turbulence is when people scream because of bad turbulence. (To be fair, one of the drops was a helluva drop) ANYWAY. Clearly, I made it ok.

I had a pretty lazy day - I pretty much just bummed around the "city centre" and walked along the water a bit... have to save some of that for later in the week when EVERYTHING is closed. The waterfront was lovely - I somewhat forgot that Akureyri was surrounded by mountains, so it was great seeing them covered in snow. The city centre was... pretty quiet haha. A few things were open, but I pretty much just walked around, saw a few statues, saw their Christmas tree (will look SO much better covered in snow tomorrow) and that was that. I was going to walk up to the grocery store (~20 min) but a bus was coming - and they have FREE busses thank you - so I decided to make a little adventure out of it. The only bus that runs on the weekend goes all around town, so I thought it would be fun to have a quick overview.

I was going to go to Bonus (their "cheap" store), but I saw a mall with a grocery story and decided to hop off. It was a great find because I also found this bakery with amazing bread 😊 I checked out the mall, got some groceries and then got back on the bus to finish my tour of the city haha. Driving up into the northern part of the city we went right near the school that we'd stayed at (when doing the volunteer trip), so that was another cool full circle thing.

Now, tonight I'm off to try and see the Northern Lights - the aurora forecast is pretty good, but the cloud cover is a little iffy, so here's hoping if we drive around a bit we get a good show!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Christmas treeChristmas tree
Christmas tree

Before snow :(


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 36; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb