Days 2 and 3: Sightseeing until I drop


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
September 26th 2017
Published: September 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

We had a whirlwind of sightseeing the last couple of days...27,500 steps yesterday and 20,000 today. T is keeping track with her Fitbit. If my feets ever get worn down to bloody stumps, she'll be able to prove why. Oddly, though, my feet don't even hurt...(for reals). My mom made me email my dad back home (who has of late been diligently tracking his steps) to tell him how many steps *we* did yesterday...she may or may not have wanted me to relay that he could "put that in your pipe and smoke it".

We got a hop-on, hop-off pass, but still (obviously) did a lot of walking. The Danube splits the city into the Buda and Pest sides. The Pest side is super walkable and if I had it to do over I may pass on the HOHO since everything really is easy to get to. And Pest is flat, so the walking is easy. Plus it was a glorious 20ish Celsius - perfect sight seeing weather. It was often easier (and nicer) to walk between sights so we skipped the HOHO altogether in those cases. Yesterday we hit the central market (gorgeous and I am now on mission to try Langos at some point before I leave - see pic), St. Stephen's Basilica (they have a relic - the saint's mummified hand, both gross and...okay, mostly gross), the chain bridge and parliament. We had a bite at a café in a park (I don't remember the name, but people can have their dogs off leash there and they were all perfectly behaved. Who's a good boy?!).

We went back out at night for the HOHO night tour and saw all of Budapest lit up. The Buda side is very hilly (like high hills - we were up about 235 metres) and we had some good vantage points from the Citadel and Buda Castle. I made a note to "look up what's going on geologically with Budapest". All that got me was links to the Geology Museum, a caving tour (which admittedly sounds cool) and a bunch of books on the subject but nothing online apparently. I may need to refine my search. Next I'm going to try "hey, Budapest. Why so hilly but then so not?"

Today we walked to our walking tour and then walked on the tour and...just a lot of walking. The walking tour was my highlight so far. Mom turned out to be the smarty pants of the group by being able to answer all the guide's questions except one (the answer to the miss was the name of a famous footballer interred in the basilica. All I remember is his name starts with a "P"). The walking tour included the Opera House, St. Stephen's Basilica (again), the fisherman's bastion (my favourite), Buda Castle (with the world's most magnificent fountain...check ca!) and some other stuff along the route. Once we crossed to the Buda side it was all hills and steps - not as easy going as yesterday but all the steps had an easy rise so it was a pleasant walk up. We ran into my aunt at Buda Castle so joined up to walk back to Pest for a spot of lunch. Afterwards we kept walking, checked out the synagogue and HOHO'd a few stops we hadn't yet seen. Completely gorgeous city and we aren't even done yet.

My favourite facts of the day: the Rubik's cube, ballpoint pen and gittin bubbles into water were all invented by Hungarians. I also love the name of the architect of the Central Market - I have no clue how it's spelled but it is pronounced "Shamu Pets".

My least favourite fact: 80% of water sold in Budapest is carbonated (see fav facts to see why). You legit have to ask for "still" water or you get bubbles. Every. Time.

On the dog watching front, the puppers continue to be out in droves. I've mostly been super respectful and *not* tried to stick any in my purse. I had a close call today when I accosted a Frenchie chilling with his owner by a bench. I *think* I asked first if I could pet his dog, but it's entirely possible I just went in with an "oh my god he's so handsome" before I pawed at his jowls. He was a very good boy. I didn't over-accost, though. The lure of a Hungarian hotdog (and, you know, a smidge of self respect) got me moving in short order. I also saw a couple of magnifient standard dachshunds go into the Tobacconist to buy cigarettes (probably for the guy with them - they didn't look like smokers).

Next up: We head out of town to Szentendre and Godollo Palace.



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Model with Braille for the visually impairedModel with Braille for the visually impaired
Model with Braille for the visually impaired

This is St. Mathias Church near Buda Castle.
LunchLunch
Lunch

Beer and a Coke Zero are the same price.


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb