Budapest is just too amazing...I'm starting to get suspicious...


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
April 4th 2006
Published: April 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

Since my last update, I finally had my luggage arrive, but then the same night I got a case of mild food poisoning that kept me up all night. So I guess I take the good with the bad. After not getting a good night's sleep, I decided it would be time for me to just relax and visit the mineral baths and relax. To be honest, I didn't really have much energy to do much other than just float around in water. It turned out to be the best thing I could have done...since this Cancerean is a happy boy when he gets into a pool. The building again was this vast, antique concrete wonder with too many artistic details to mention, and it brought you back to a time when all people did back in the day to get well, was to come to a place like this. So the 'baths' are basically just different sized pools filled in with mineral water at different tempuratures. I just soaked in these for an hour, until I found out that the outdoor pools were open, advertised to be open in another month. It was amazing to be in these heated outdoor pools, with waterfalls, jets, angels pissing warm mineral water on your head (at least I hope it was mineral water) and just soaking in the cool spring air with the sunshine on my face. I only left because I was starting to look like a dried prune which as you know is not a good look for me.

I ended wandering the park after and met up with this guy who was practicing his bartending 'flare' moves, and this guy was amazing. His name is Victor, and I ended up meeting up with him today with 2 of his friends, one of which is even better at the bartending skills than Victor. It seems that they are training for a few competitions coming up, and they invited me to 'practice' along with them. I did pick up a few new moves, which will help me on the ship, but I am nowhere in the same league as these guys.

I also visited the Cathedral today, which was breathtaking, but I always ask how much patience does one need to take on such a task...it is just huge, and the details are again amazing. The thing that I'm starting to hate about this city is all the details they put on their buildings. It makes the rest of us look bad, makes me want to take way too many pictures of angels, devils, men with bad mustaches in hats, gargoyles and other such things. I could really have a boring photo album of this trip is I'm not careful. And i'm not just saying that the odd building is like this...they're all like this. These people must have been really bored back in the day to do all this work. I'm not really looking forward to starting the boat gig, as this is giving me a taste of freedom that I've never had. I truly recommend visiting this city if you are at all thinking of travelling, it will seal the deal for anyone, guaranteed.

Well, I'm sure I'll add more soon, but for now...that's all folks...

Cheers,

neil

Advertisement



4th April 2006

Silly Details
Neil! They weren't bored...it is most likely baroque architecture...which means that the more ornate the architectural deocration was, the more they felt they were honouring God. You are sooo funny. Do me a favour? When you right about churches, try and include the name of the church...so I can look it up and experience the wonder and details along with you. Have fun sugar!

Tot: 0.42s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb