Still no luggage...but who cares...I'm in Budapest!


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
April 2nd 2006
Published: April 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Angels in the sky...Angels in the sky...Angels in the sky...

Just a random shot of a statue on a church in budapest....
So,

I asked my hostel pals to call the delivery service here at the Budapest Airport to find out where my luggage was...it was still in Frankfurt apparently, on the second day after I arrived. Apparently, the planes were too 'full' to take on my single, solitary backpack. I should have known this would be the case after reading the Luthansa baggage claim letter stating...'after 5 days, if you have not received your luggage, please contact our head office my mail....'. 5DAys!!! wow, it looks like they put a priority on this kind of thing. Anyway...I'm still happy and chilling here in Budapest. So I basically did some more walking around the city, this time in the opposite direction of my first run, this time towards the famous baths. I actually rode on the original subway line, I can guarantee it now...it was only 3 mini cars long, and the stations looked like they should be in a museum. I visited the museum, saw so many amazing works of art from visiting exhibits that I got jaded after a while...sad but true. The museum itself was just amazing...it sucks that I couldn't take any photos to prove it.

There
Budapest....Budapest....Budapest....

by the Danube...great view from up here...
were many things that just made me love this city more...the big central park where people were just playing a bit of soccer, walking, the castle with the drained moat, the massive square with all the people chilling and rollerblading, all the motorcyles I see on the streets (they make me so jealous!!! I want my bike back!!!), the mini-Wonderland amusement park with the imitation version of the fake mountain...seriously...I didn't take a pic, but I will. There are too many young couples in love and showing it...it is spring after all. It makes a single guy want to break down and get into a relationship just to fit in. The weather's been amazing, and I plan on visiting the baths tomorrow, after I finally get some swimming trunks, if now, I'll go buy one. Anyway, I'm enjoying just kicking it here in Buda, as it was originally called back in the day...

More a bit later...

Cheers,

Neil


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The ? sqare...don't know the name...nice spot thoughThe ? sqare...don't know the name...nice spot though
The ? sqare...don't know the name...nice spot though

lots of people chilling here and rollerblading...


3rd April 2006

Balls!
That's balls that you don't have your bag yet dude...BALLS!!!
3rd April 2006

Suck about the bag....
Sounds interesting over there. Have fun buddy and the bag will turn up..... By the way, I dare you to jump in the public baths and start kicking and screaming naked!!! Talk soon.
5th April 2006

Sounds like your having an awesome time so far. Keep up the good work!!!!!

Tot: 0.311s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb