Back to the city...


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Pest
April 12th 2009
Published: April 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

If there's one thing that's a near certainty with me at this point, it's that I'm a city brat. For some reason being holed-up in a small town for a while makes me feel bored and rather out of place - more out of place than "normal".

So, at 8am I left the apartment in Siófok and made for the train station. I'd purchased a train ticket that I thought was 2-way from Budapest, which indeed it turned out to be after checking it with the lady at the window in the train station; however the next train (at 9am) was to Keleti pu, not Déli pu, so I had to pay another 220Ft (about $1) to ride. No big deal.

The train ride was good, I got to sit with a bunch of groggy riders (I'm guessing that that specific train must have started somewhere far away, possibly Venice) as the train sped through the Transdanube's green rolling hills. There was an odd moment when I felt us getting closer to the city, maybe it was just all the graffiti in broken English that made me smile. By the time the train crossed the Duna at the Lágymányosi híd I began feeling emotional just at the sight of the Palace of Arts. When I stepped off the train at Keleti pu, where I'd finished a long train ride from İstanbul a year ago, I felt like I was almost home again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb