It's a boy - day 93


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece
November 7th 2011
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 37.9795, 23.7162

day NINETY THREE...what sick bastard goes away for that long!!

i am seriously home sick....glad i'm here, but still home sick

my cousin had a boy 😊😊 we knew it would be a boy because they saw his peepee in an ultrasound months ago

being in athens for a month with family has been so great...and being in athens for a month has reminded me exactly why i ran away from here and back to sydney 11 years ago...i'll always love it here, my other home, but fuck me it's an infuriating place with people so stuck in their infuriating ways - and of course with me being stuck in my own infuriating ways, those given to me by my australian upbringing which advocates a way of life geared toward acceptance and understanding of differences, well, we but heads me and the greeks do, OH YES WE DO

add to that the utter heartbreaking sadness of greece's dubious financial future borne of decades of mismanagement and misappropriation of funds and taxes, my time here has been a mashup of feelings of awe, joy, anger and helplessness...they say that 90% of earth's wealth is held by 1% of the population - i reckon they're
my dad's villagemy dad's villagemy dad's village

it holds a special place in my heart, one that i want to napalm and love all at the same time
all bankers (or just wankers, take your pick)

1 week till i'm home...1 week till i see my friends, 1 week till i see my CATS...i miss my parents, i miss my comfortable bed, i miss my brand of cigarettes, i miss logic, i miss happy stupid people, i miss order, i miss being the loudest person in the room (i'm considered quite meek here...lol of the century!!)...but in about another month i'm pretty much guaranteed to be missing all the things which drive me nuts about athens...it's the way it is, the way it has to be, the way it shall be, until i come back and do it all again

xxx

ps...it's my bff's birthday today...i haven't (and won't) wish her a happy one because i am in utter denial that i am so far away...there's a LOT to be said about family and keeping in touch and holding on to those relationships with people who live on the other side of the world, and then there are YOUR people, the ones in your life who help you get through the mundane and the insane, and being far away from that is something which no words can make better -
A SNAKE!A SNAKE!A SNAKE!

we found it outside the house in the village...they killed it...it was about a metre long....eeeekkk
so let's celebrate next week, ok?

pss...i'm already planning my next holiday, so the world can eat me (Fiji in April for my 40th birthday)




Advertisement



9th November 2011

OH HOW I"VE MISSED YOU! you've been in my thoughts for WEEKS now!! I see all these things and think "OMG must tell/ask Nicky her opinions!" So glad you've had such a brilliant and WELL deserved extended holiday. Congrats on the addition to
the family, one VERY handsome little man!YAY NICKY"S COMING HOME SOOOOOOOOON! xoxo
9th November 2011

Come back to LJ already PLEASE!!!! lol. Really, I'm glad you had a great time! FYI- Lisa's (janee02)'s cat died a couple days ago. Her senior girl named Sox. I just wanted to warn you in case you talked to her when you got back and said any
thing about missing your cats- I didn't want you to get the whole foot in mouth thing. Can't wait to talk to you on a daily/semi-daily basis again, lol. Stay safe! Love, Laura
9th November 2011

*waves*How do the people in Greece deal with the current situation? On TV, you mostly see people who are angry at their ex-president (at least I think he's the ex-president, because this morning I read they are looking for a replacement), b
ut I'm sure there are other opinions ...
9th November 2011

Oh NickyI know exactly how you feel. I get so homesick for S.A. and yet when I'm there, within a few days I want to pack up and go home. Home? That's my 'home' when I'm here.. what am I saying? The place, the people [family] OMG I do u
nderstand so well.Soon you'll be home [maybe it was a bit long].. but you had to do it.Been to Fiji 3 times.. a week was great. The food is really good.Have a safe trip home.. not long now. Give them lots of hugs. To remember.Lots of love
9th November 2011

I've been wondering what you were up to :) aww squish your kitties for me and no I'm not talking dirty lool
9th November 2011

Cute!!! Tell Maria congrats
9th November 2011

where is this Nicky ? doesnt look familiar to me at all
10th November 2011

I thought Greece had just about reached the end days, but it looks like Greece, the Euro and Union will survive at least until you're back Down Under. You even got a new Prime Minister to boot! But all jokes aside, I'm so envious you can es
cape the winter. Winter's coming.
10th November 2011

Eff........That's in Nafpaktos

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb