Athens to Patras


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » West Greece
July 17th 2017
Published: July 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Athens to Patras


July 17 Monday



Woke up at 5 AM to get ready to go to Athens today. I looked out the curtain to see if the sun had started to rise. Instead I saw a lot of clouds up in the sky. By the time we got to port it was raining. Finally a cool day



One of the things I tried finally this morning was the travel shampoo that I had bought. This is a little packet of slivers of shampoo paper. You take one out of the container with dry hands and then when you wet it and it dissolves into soap. I figured since my hair is a little long I took about three or four of those out. While in the shower I tried using on my hair and it didn't really work at all. So I finished with using the soap available in the shower and completed my morning routine. When I finally was ready to dry my hair I had a huge knot top of my head. When I looked in the mirror, I had a clump of the paper soap still stuck to some of my hair. So I had to get back in the shower to get the soap out of my hair again.



After drying my hair and getting redressed I was ready to go grab some breakfast. Once again everybody was on one side of the room where they enter and use the buffet that is closest to the entrance. No one was using the buffet on the other side of the room so I walked over and started using it. After breakfast I went back to my room and grab my backpack and little suitcase and headed to the meeting place in the Muse's Lounge. We finally left the crew ship about 8 o'clock. Our cruise director took us through the whole process and it was very simple. Our luggage was already on our bus.



We headed to the Acropolis. The rain stopped just as we started up the hillside and after some of my fellow passengers bought umbrellas from one of the souvenir shops. We climbed stairs and stairs to get to the top. It was worth it but my left knee is beginning to complain. Once again I walked on stones that people have walked on since before Christ. Unlike the ruins I saw on the various islands in the Aegean, here at the Acropolis one could feel the absolute wonder of being connected to the past. After leaving the tour guide again, I explored on my own. Although I can't say Athens would be a great place to visit, I would say come to Athens just for the antiquities. I needed more time than just an hour. After visiting the Acropolis we had a 30 minute bus tour of the city before being dropped off at the Plaka (shopping area). This time I was actually in the correct area. I was on the lookout for a large suitcase. Mine is getting heavy with items (souvenirs, clothes, postcards, magnets) I bought for myself and others. Scott had said the previous night that I could get a suitcase while we were in Athens at a better price than if I waited until London. The store clerk said it was €65 but then dropped it to €55. I stated that I wild keep looking elsewhere so he dropped it to €45. I then countered with €40. He declined so I said than you and walked away. Halfway through the store he stone and agreed as long as I told no one about it. I have heard that phrase from shop keepers all across Europe and America. When I went to pay with my credit card he refused and wanted cash even though he had a sign that stated he accepted credit cards. When I said that I'll walk away if he doesn't take my card, he then agreed to using credit. I headed black towards the meeting place. I had time to grab a light lunch of spinach pie and French fries. After paying for the meal, I was approached by a woman trying to get me to buy a table cloth she was selling from her large shoulder bag. I declined and started to walk away. After walking a few blocks I turned around and she was still behind me asking others. I met up with a couple of others at our meet up place and she began selling around us. After a few minutes of us telling her no she finally walked away.



We boarded our bus and headed off for a 2 hour drive to the port of Patras to catch our ferry to Italy. We were a little ahead of schedule so Scott had us do a little detour to the town of Corinth. We were able to see the famous Corinth Canal. Completed on August 6, 1893 and open to traffic on October 28, 1893, the Corinth Canal reduce the distance between the ports of the Aegean in the Adriatic Sea by 131 nautical miles. We were able to walk on the bridge that crossed over it. It was an impressive site! They even offered bungee jumping! On our way to the port we passed the town of Rio that had a beautiful bridge connecting to the other side of the river town called Antirrio.



We arrived at the port city of Patras about a half hour early. But that didn't matter since the ferry, Olympia, was late by about two hours. We went inside a little terminal to wait. Luckily they had a nice area to sit in and to grab a small bite to eat. I of course grab the spinach pie but unfortunately burnt the roof of my mouth from the heat. After eating I decided to make a phone call home. While I was talking to my dad on the phone I noticed about 15 to 20 men rush three semi trucks that were parked in the large parking lot behind the terminal. These men were trying to find ways to hide underneath the semi so that they can get into Italy illegally. Then the patrol car came over and the next thing you know they were running in all different directions climbing over the barbwire fence.



We boarded the ferry and had just enough time to drop off our carry-on luggage before heading to dinner. Needless to say dining on a ferry is not the same as on a cruise. No choice of selections. Thank god for bread rolls. After taking some pictures topside I headed for bed. The mattress was thinner than I would have liked. It was on a wooden platform. So I grabbed the other mattress and put it on top of mine. Much better!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 315, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.289s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1105s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb