Getting to Olympia


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » West Greece » Olympia
June 25th 2012
Published: June 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Main Street, Olympia Main Street, Olympia Main Street, Olympia

A lot of great cafes, and really tacky souvenir shops.
Hands down, my favorite day of travel yet, mainly because nothing went according to plan. The first couple hours went smoothly enough - I just retraced my steps on the bus by going through Sparta to Tripoli. It was in Tripoli that it happened.

I knew ahead of time that the next bus to Olympia wasn't set to leave until 6 PM, and was prepared to sit in the bus station for something like six hours. As I was getting my ticket, though, this really nice guy behind the counter suggested that I set off at 12 for a little town called Dafni, and then he'd arrange for a taxi to pick me up and take me the remaining 30 minutes or so to Olympia. I know it all sounds very counter-intuitive (why couldn't the bus just continue to Olympia?), but I've come to appreciate the fact that the Greeks just do things differently. Bus schedules can change by the minute, randomly you have to change buses and you're not really sure why, and then there's the famous dropping you in the middle of nowhere, like what happened in Turkey. It's all part of the experience, and you just have to be patient and genuinely trust in the innate goodness of most people.

And today that all was proved. I was on a bus only full of locals and we drove through some of the most beautiful countryside I've seen thus far in Greece. It actually was surprisingly a lot like going up I-70. Towering mountains and breath-taking views down into pine-covered valleys. I honestly had absolutely no idea where we were most of the time, and I only asked towards the end. Definitely something I'll never forget. And the attendant on the bus called ahead to set up my cab. So when I got off in the middle of nowhere, magically a cab appeared and took me to Olympia. Instead of getting in by 10ish, I was there by 3ish - all due to the help of the kind Greek people.

Other than that, just got to know Olympia today, which is a very, very small town. There's literally only one main street. But, again, these are the days that make travel so absolutely awesome: the randomness of things that work out, and a continued faith that most people, deep down, are good and honest, and will
My hotelMy hotelMy hotel

A great place. The owners are a Greek guy and his Australian wife. Very nice people.
help you when you need it. To me, that's why I travel in the first place. It's more about people than places.

Advertisement



27th June 2012

the day
I'm really enjoying your blog, Mathew. thank you and best wishes for more surprise days/memories. Consider not admitting so often that you're lost. I can feel your mom's anxiousness from here.
28th June 2012

Thanks for the advice, Uncle Bob... but it's usually fun to be lost! Glad you're liking the blog.

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1166s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb