Santorini


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
September 24th 2005
Published: September 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello,
made it to Santorini and it is really beautiful here, the beaches have black sand and the sea is dark blue. We found someone at the port that had a room in Perissa (where the beaches are) and it was huge it could of fit 4 people and I had a double bed for only 25 euros a night for two people. The owners were also really nice and helpful.

Tried a dish which in English is called small fish I thought it just meant a small piece of fish, he even showed me what they looked like from a metre away but since I am blind as a bat I just nodded. It turned out to be lots of tiny little fish with their heads and whiskers still on and they looked just like the ones I saw in the sea earlier in the day , thats all I could think about (I am funny like that; not funny ha ha) so I tried to eat some and then gave the rest to the stray cat that was hanging around and he really enjoyed them. We got some free Raki to drink which was really good, a bit like Tequilla (Jnich: or that drink you brought me from Romania a couple of years ago :-))

We spent two nights in Perissa and really enjoyed ourselves then headed to Fira for a night to watch the sunset I have some pictures but so far can't find a shop that can burn them on to disc. Fira was nice but not as nice as Perissa we got an ok room with a bathroom, the only thing was it was a bit of a hike with our backpacks. Donkey poo is everywhere here but have found out it doesnt stick to your shoes like normal poo but it really stinks.

This is our last Greek island we are visiting so it is v. sad as we have really enjoyed the ones that we have seen and I would definately come back, we have a 14hr ferry ride to Athens tomorrow and then are getting the train up to thessaloniki which takes 6.5 hrs, I think we will be a bit knackered! Hope all is well,
Jen
Me and Pamela still dont have a tan


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb