Day 22


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
September 29th 2010
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

Day 22

Today was our first dig day in a while, so I got up at 6:30am to talk to my boyfriend since our conversation go cut out yesterday. We talked for a good half hour then I had to start getting ready for the day. I had breakfast and changed with him on the line, and I headed out around 7:25am. I knocked on my neighbor Zack’s door, he’s been having a hard time with the rude rowdy girls in our program so he missed out on all the class time yesterday, so I volunteered to see how he was doing today. When I knocked he answered a little angrily, maybe thinking it was someone there to bother him, but I just said that I wanted to see if he wanted to walk down to the docks with me for class. I think it cheered him up a bit, to have someone wait for him, so we headed down together; making small talk and I warned him about the cleaning lady’s nasty habit of not knocking before entering a room to clean (she walked in on one of my friends while she was getting out of the shower naked, about to change). Once we met up with the group my prof took Zack aside, I’m guessing to see how he was doing today, and I met with the others to wait for the rest of the group. Apparently, since it was Ryan’s birthday last night, they went to Kivatos and smoked so huka. It seemed like Ryan woke up drunk still; while Jen’s roommate wound up puking all night long (in the meantime Jen wanted to get an early good night’s sleep), and one girl bruised her toes on one foot pretty bad (but she has no clue how it happened or how she got home, good thing a guy in our program was with her and cleared up the whole story this morning). So with all that, we started a bit later this morning and even at the site we started later. I heard my prof was smoking huka and drinking this nasty grape alcohol (smells like spoiled vodka with gasoline in it) so everyone was feeling pretty slow this morning.

At the dig site, there was only 3 of us at our trench today, Sarah’s neck was really bothering her all last night so she couldn’t get any sleep; instead she stayed back at the apartments and my prof gave her some pills to take for her muscles and sleep. Good thing she stayed home because all we did was strenuous labor; we were hauling more topsoil from the other parts of our trench. We found quite a few giant pieces of pithos burial, but not enough of it in one spot to be in context. For the rest of the day we took down some ant hills and beetle homes, while trying to keep the trench level and looking out for soil changes. It was a countdown to lunch time, as usual, and 1pm couldn’t come fast enough. We were all tired and sore. Vasili dropped Isabelle and I off in the town before driving to the apartments again; she picked up a package that her boyfriend sent to her, and I went to the bank to get some large bills changed (the local stores here don’t have enough business to take large bills for small purchases). After that we walked home, unpacked, did some Greek in her room and she made us snacks (Greek salad, grilled cheese and tomato sandwich, cookies with dark chocolate insides). At about 4:50 I headed back to my room to plug my laptop back in and we walked to the Hercules building for Greek language tutorial with Stella. It felt like a pretty long session (about 2 hours, 5-7pm) and we were just counting down the minutes till dinner!

After class Isabelle and I rushed home because we were eager and hungry for our dinner! We fried up a cubed potato and red onions, then added the leftover and marinated lemon pepper chicken to cook, then the veggies. It all fried very nicely and it all tasted like garlic and sweet onions! We ate while watching the rest of ‘Forgetting Sarah Marshall’. She left at about 8:30pm and I made lunch for tomorrow; cheese, meat, tomato, onion sandwich in whole grain bread, with cucumbers on the side…all as usual.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb