Day 21


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
September 28th 2010
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

Day 21

This morning I got up around 8:50am on my own and slowly got ready for the day. After I changed, washed up, grabbed breakfast and packed mine and Isabelle’s lunch, I heard loud bustling around nearby so I figured it was the cleaning lady (she cleans every Monday and Thursday) so I got ready fast and went to Lisa’s room. Unfortunately, she didn’t get to our floor today, so I guess she’ll come back tomorrow and finish up the apartments. Once Isabelle came down, we headed to class; it looked like it had rained earlier this morning but it was clearing up nicely and got pretty hot.
At the Hercules building, it was surprisingly ready for us at 10am (very unusual considering our prof goes by Greek time and is always running late and never on time, so for sure rarely early!). We walked in and got to business pretty fast; Zack, the late guy from the first week, must have slept in because he never showed up to class but we continued without him. Our prof talked about the Greek language class, because there are apparently still people thinking about dropping the course, but I’m set on taking it all the way and doing my best! That way I can say that I learned Greek in Greece!! How many people can say they’ve accomplished that?! After he got some business out of the way, we started our Ancient Greek Pottery lecture for about an hour and a half.

It was about 11:30am when we finished, so we all went for lunch at Pantelei’s (I walked back with a couple of girls to refrigerate my lunch, change from my pants and boots to flip flops and shorts, then went back to the beachfront for lunch). I shared a margarita pizza with 2 other girls; it was a delicious and cheap lunch! I paid 2.50 EU for lunch, including bottled water. After lunch, we all walked toward the shops where I tried to change my big bills to small ones, but they were busy at the bank, so I decided to just go back another day. And so Isabelle and I went to pick up some green peppers, onions, and chicken breasts for the barbeque dinner. We marinated the chicken in lemon, pepper, salt, paprika and garlic, and then I headed back to class for my 2pm trench meeting. When my group finished, Isabelle’s team was next, so she just came by my place after to get things skewered and veggies chopped. At 5pm we had our Greek review with our prof, so we left the marinating meats in my fridge. At the end of the lesson we had 2 birthday cakes for Ryan and then we left to grab the meats for the barbeque. Neil as roasting some potatoes, and then put his pork souvlaki on the grill as we grilled our kabobs. It only took about 20-30 mins and were were eating. Ada also prepared some babaganoush for tomorrow’s Greek lesson and we feasted on some of Neil’s homemade tzatziki and Joe’s homemade frappes. At about 8:30pm I headed back with Lisa and we talked on her patio for a while.
I ended my day with trying to skype with my boyfriend, that didn’t work very well, got my stuff ready for tomorrow, and fell asleep.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb