Bus 1, train 0


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Central Macedonia » Thessaloniki
June 9th 2016
Published: June 9th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I was rather excited at the idea of taking my first ride on a Greek train this trip. My alarm didn't go off so I scrambled to get to the station for the 6:40 departure. When I got there, it was very quiet. A few homeless-looking guys were hanging around. No train. No one in the office. After a few minutes I went to see if there was anything posted to indicate that something was amiss, and sure enough there was a notice with the dreaded word ΑΠΕΡΓΙΑ - "strike" in Greek. No trains today. Welcome to Greece!

I hustled over to the bus station to find I had plenty of time before the first bus of the day at 8:00. I could have used that extra hour of sleep!

I've now found a website that claims to collect all available info about transport strikes in Greece. It does indeed mention today's strike as well as strikes for part of the day from Monday to Friday next week. I have a ticket for the train from Thessaloniki to Athens on Sunday and I'm hoping I'll actually get to ride the damn thing!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb